Time machine question regarding windows

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by shoolie, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. shoolie macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #1
    I want to get a time machine for my iMac, but I use windows vista extensively for gaming purposes. Will time machine back-up everything from the vista side also?
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    No.

    Time Machine only works on HFS+ format disks/partitions (Vista cannot be installed on one) and only works when OSX is running. You need to use normal Windows backup stuff to backup Windows.
     
  3. sassenach74 macrumors 65816

    sassenach74

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    #3
    Are you sure you mean Time Machine and not Time Capsule?
     
  4. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #4
    Depending on which version of Vista you're buying, (Ultimate will contain it all) there is perfectly decent backup software built in. The basic, business and home versions won't have the full imaging tools but do have file backup facilities.
     
  5. durant0s macrumors regular

    durant0s

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #5
    What I want to know is if I have a Time Capsule, how can I back things up to it from the video's side?
     

Share This Page