Time Machine question

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by creativedogmedia, Jun 4, 2014.

  1. creativedogmedia macrumors 65816

    creativedogmedia

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    #1
    I picked up a new MBP in March. Since then, it has been backing up everything to a new folder on my external HD. Can I delete the backups from the previous machine? I waited to ensure I didnt need anything from it. Also, in order to make sure I have a FULL backup how do I get it to accomplish that?
     
  2. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #2
    Yes, you can delete the previous machine's folder.

    Time Machine defaults to providing a full backup so unless you went into preferences & set up excluded folders, that's what you're getting.
     
  3. creativedogmedia thread starter macrumors 65816

    creativedogmedia

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    #3
    Thanks....I'd actually like to delete ALL backups and start fresh.....Would I just turn TM off, delete and format the ext HD and then turn it back on? Knowing full well that the only good backup I would have would be the full one done today...
     
  4. hologram macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #4
    Yep, that's what you do. After you format the drive, unmount it, or turn it off. When you turn it back on or mount it again, Time Machine should ask if you want to use it as a backup, but if it doesn't, just go into TM prefs and select it.
     

Share This Page