Time Machine Question

LarryJoe33

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jul 17, 2017
Boston
I am new to Time Machine. I have never used it as I use CCC to image my system and have liked the boot feature Time Machine doesn't have. However, I have read articles that say both processes have their pluses and minuses. I would like to try Time Machine.

I have an external drive that only has my most recent CCC backup. I have space on this drive for Time Machine. Can I have both on the same drive? Can I put Time Machine backup in a Folder instead of the root and would it work to restore if I did this?

Weaselboy

Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
California
Can I put Time Machine backup in a Folder instead of the root and would it work to restore if I did this?
You don't want to do that because CCC will overwrite it. Just add a second partition to the external drive and use one partition for CCC and the other for TM.

Although this will work just fine, it is not as good as having a separate drive for each since if the one drive fails you have lost both your backups.

Reactions: Gav2k

LarryJoe33

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jul 17, 2017
Boston
You don't want to do that because CCC will overwrite it. Just add a second partition to the external drive and use one partition for CCC and the other for TM.

Although this will work just fine, it is not as good as having a separate drive for each since if the one drive fails you have lost both your backups.
Thank you. Makes sense. Problem is a use a 256gb thumb drive and I don’t think I can partition it?

Reactions: Weaselboy

Crash0veride

macrumors regular
Oct 10, 2016
Cincinnati
Sure... you can partition a thumb drive just like any other drive. This link shows you how.