Time Machine Question

Discussion in 'macOS' started by LarryJoe33, Aug 3, 2017.

1. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

LarryJoe33

I am new to Time Machine. I have never used it as I use CCC to image my system and have liked the boot feature Time Machine doesn't have. However, I have read articles that say both processes have their pluses and minuses. I would like to try Time Machine.

I have an external drive that only has my most recent CCC backup. I have space on this drive for Time Machine. Can I have both on the same drive? Can I put Time Machine backup in a Folder instead of the root and would it work to restore if I did this?

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

You don't want to do that because CCC will overwrite it. Just add a second partition to the external drive and use one partition for CCC and the other for TM.

Although this will work just fine, it is not as good as having a separate drive for each since if the one drive fails you have lost both your backups.

3. LarryJoe33 thread starter macrumors 6502a

LarryJoe33

Thank you. Makes sense. Problem is a use a 256gb thumb drive and I don’t think I can partition it?

4. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

5. Crash0veride macrumors regular

Crash0veride

Not always true, just FYI. Sometimes on thumb drives you can't re-partition an already partitioned drive. I've noticed it on ones I formatted that are missing an EFI partition. You might be able to fix this with terminal, I haven't had luck. I had this problem the other day trying to create a "clover" FAT32 partition to a thumb missing an EFI, but I couldn't add any partitions or resize in disk utility.

6. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

You cannot resize a FAT32 partition in Disk Utility, but you can resize a HFS+ partition and that is what I am assuming OP is using.

7. LarryJoe33 thread starter macrumors 6502a

LarryJoe33

8. Crash0veride, Aug 3, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2017

Crash0veride macrumors regular