Time machine question

Discussion in 'macOS' started by wakerider017, Jun 19, 2007.

  1. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #1
    I have a 500GB HDD so will I just need to create a new partition to use Time Machine when leopard comes out?

    Or can I alot a certain amount of HDD space to Time machine directly through the software?

    Thanks!
     
  2. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #2
    Backups protect against two kinds of things (1) You being dumb and deleting something you shouldn't have and (2) hardware failures.

    If you used a second partition then you would only have case (1) covered. You really should spend a few bucks and take care of (2) as well.
     
  3. pake macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Delft
    #3
    I think you will have to create a new partition for it to work. If you're talking about an external partition, so that the physical drive is not the same, then you're covering (1) and (2).
     
  4. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #4
    I'm assuming this is an external hard drive because it doesn't make much sense to backup your data to the exact same hard drive that the original files are on.

    The current iteration of Time Machine requires a dedicated partition to backup to; you cannot simply specific a certain area of a currently-used partition. So yes, you'll need to either create a new partition map using Disk Utility or dedicate one of your currently existing partitions to Time Machine.
     
  5. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #5
    There is a very good FAQ about time Machine here.

    You can find a lot of answers there.:)
     

Share This Page