Time Machine Question?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rodman109110, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. rodman109110 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #1
    I have two external hard drives, one is 300 GB and the other is 500 gb. I set up Time Machine on the 300 GB hd. In the Time Machines options it has excluded the 500 GB hd from being backed up. Is there a way to change this or can Time Machine not back up an external?
     
  2. overanalyzer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA USA
    #2
    In System Preferences for Time Machine, go to Options, then you can select any drives or directories not to back up. If you want to back up the other external drive, just remove it from the "Do not back up" list.
     
  3. rodman109110 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
  4. overanalyzer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA USA
    #4
    Weird, mine isn't for other drives, only for my Time Machine drive (obviously it can't back itself up). Maybe it's because the 500GB is larger so it wouldn't fit?
     
  5. rodman109110 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #5
    Is it possible that it won't back up because it is formatted in MS DOS? There is 200 GB used so it should fit on the Time Machine HD
     
  6. overanalyzer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA USA
    #6
    I suppose it's possible, but it seems unlikely. I was wondering if even though there's only 200GB now, if it won't allow you to set it to be backed up since it could end up being 500GB.
     
  7. rodman109110 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #7
    For whatever reason it works now. Thanks for your help.
     
  8. overanalyzer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA USA
    #8
    Well that's good. Wonder why it didn't before :confused: ...oh well. Glad you're all set now at least.
     
  9. thestandingroom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    #9
    I have exactly the same situation -- external 500gb and 300gb drives, with the 300gb dedicated to Time Machine. It's not backing up the 300gb, and the remove option is grayed out. Rodman, any clue what you did to get it to work eventually?
     

Share This Page