Time Machine question?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by timimbo85, May 16, 2008.

1. timimbo85 macrumors regular

timimbo85

Hello, so I just purchased a external HD it holds 350 Gigs. I hooked it up to my MBP and set it up so it would work with TM. After all the transfer was complete it said there was only 160Gs left. I am a designer and I know its great to have my work backed up. But I feel it would be better if I just backed it up myself and saved a crap load of extra space? Does the updates keep using more memory? Will it eventually fill up?

This I am sure is an easy answer, but I just want to hear some input.

Thanks

2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

wrldwzrd89

Yes, your drive will fill up eventually. This is normal with Time Machine - the first backup is the biggest, and subsequent backups will be much smaller. Once the drive runs out of space, Time Machine will tell you that it is going to delete old backups to make room.

Also, you're confusing memory with hard drive space. They are not the same thing. Backups consume hard drive space but not memory.

3. wordmunger macrumors 603

wordmunger

You can also go into your settings and specify what not to back up. For example if you have old projects that you're keeping around for convenience but you also have them backed up on DVD, you might tell TM not to back those up. Or you might decide not to back up applications if have all your original install disks.

4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Time Machine backups

:apple: Time Machine is a simple, but not highly efficient means of backing up your files. It makes complete copies of your data... not just the changes. Yes, it will continue to grow until it consumes all available space. While there are settings you can adjust, a better approach would be to manually backup your data on a regular basis.