Time machine question !

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by aduteau, Oct 10, 2008.

  1. aduteau macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys, I have a question I'm sure someone will be able to answer !
    I had problems with my iMac (kept freezing on me) so I booted with the install disk and did the disk utility, I could not do any disk repair or permision repair too ... Only thing left was to erase and do a Time machine !
    So I did the time machine restore of my backups, .... but I kept the old problems of my iMac (coz I backup the problems). So after freezing and freezing ( its not hardware related ). I had enough and decided to reinstall Mac OS 10.5 without time machine.

    Now its not freezing at all ... and is lightning fast like when I bought it the first time ! ... here is my question: How can I get only parts of my old backups from time machine like: ical, addressbook, iphotos, iTunes settings ....

    When I select time machine ... its as if time machine thinks its a new Mac ... and i cant see my old backups ...

    Please help me out ...
     
  2. Samarium macrumors 6502a

    Samarium

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    @ home.
    #2
    I think you errased your backup. :confused:
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    Have you tried digging through the filesystem on your Time Machine hard disk?
     
  4. aduteau thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #4
    how do i do that ??
    I dont think i erased them (oh god please no) coz it says the time machine external disk is 150 gig full (used) ... so somewhere on that drive are backups of my old mac ....

    I read somewhere that I have to use the same computer name or user name as my last one ???
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Open the disk up in Finder...
     
  6. aduteau thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #6
    ok yeah i see all my old backups when i go in the finder ...
    so i have to do this manually ? And cant use the time machine function anymore ?

    If I wanted to restore my addresbook ... i tought I had to open up addresbook then start time machine and find what I was looking for ...

    and iCal also ...

    I guess iPhoto is not too bad ... I can just copy my iPhoto library back to my HDD ... but the rest .. ???
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    I'd copy the contents of your home directory. The problem might be that something in ~/Library folder was the cause of your problems in the first place.

    Are you sure it doesn't show up in Time Machine while flying through space? I'd give Migration Assistant a look as well but I'd only migrate your user account contents back.
     
  8. aduteau thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #8
    You think ... that was causing my iMac to freeze ? could be ...

    Also how can I change the name of my home folder ???
    Beacause I see I have a different name then my last iMac ...
    (sorry I'm kind of new to the mac universe, I switch from PC a couple of months ago ... and Macs Rulz) :)
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    Do not change the name of your home directory.

    I'd migrate over your old account and try to log into and see if it causes any problems.
     
  10. aduteau thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #10
    how do I use the migration asistant ?
    Can It restore only parts of my backup and not all my HDD ?
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    From Google...

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1554

    http://www.apple.com/pro/tips/migration.html

    Leopard adds support for migrating from Time Machine drives. You only need to migrate your user files and not all your old applications. After that log into your old account and see if it works. Your problem might have been in the OS X system files or some setting in your user Library.
     
  12. aduteau thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #12
    ok so user files have nothing to do with mac os ? So I should not be freezing anymore ?
    Also .. migrating a user file ... does that copy also apps ? I hope not
     
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    You'd know all that if you actually opened Migration Assistant. :D

    User files have a lot to do with OS X. There might be a bad setting in your user Library that was causing the problems. Narrowing it down might require a bit too much effort rather then rebuilding it.
     
  14. aduteau thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #14
    Thx a million Eidorian !!! Big help !
    Im just a bit lost about lib files ... and user folder ...

    Im doing the migration as we speak ... I hope it doesnt freeze after lol

    The migration ask about the user folder .... the Lib folder and the Apps ....

    As if they arent at all related ... thats why im kind of lost about this lol
     
  15. aduteau thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #15
    well the migration asistant finished doing its job ...
    and well ..seems my user name wasnt the same as last time ... so it did a new user name folder with all my stuff in it ...

    Do i have to create a new user account ?
     
  16. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #16
    Logout of your current account and log into your previous one.
     
  17. aduteau thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
  18. tordislovise macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #18
    How to restore addressbook from Time Machine?

    Hi,

    I lent my iphone to a friend, and when i got it back, I unfortunately managed to mix all the addresses from his addressbook with my addressbook.. It is a mess, and I am trying to restore my old addressbook from timemachine. I manage to find the addressbook in timemachine, but when I choose restore, time machine just jumps back to the addressbook I have today. Does anyone have an answer to this? How can I get my old addressbook back?

    Lovise
     
  19. bigboy99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Location:
    Deep in the Heart of Tejas
    #19

Share This Page