Time Machine questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mrs HBF, Nov 2, 2010.

1. Mrs HBF macrumors regular

I have not used Time Machine yet nor have I backed up anything and I know I really need to do so. So do I need to get a hard drive in order to do this? If so, what do you all recommend is the best that isn't bulky but is also inexpensive? I'd like to spend under $100. Then how do I use it with conjunction to Time Machine?

Thank you. Yes, I'm still very new to MBP.

2. MartyF81 macrumors 6502

1. Buy external Hard Drive of your choice. There are many under $100.00.
    2. Plug it in to USB port
    3. Open Time Machine.
    4. Point Time Machine at your drive.
    5. Done.

It is super easy. :)

3. Mrs HBF thread starter macrumors regular

I don't know much about hard drives, MartyF81. Anyone in particular you prefer?

Also, yes, I know this is a dumb question, but when you wrote "Point Time Machine at your drive", what do you mean? When I turn on Time Machine, the external hard drive I buy will pop up?

4. Opstech macrumors 6502a

Opstech

I'll help you out.
    Go to your nearest Best Buy, go to the Electronics department and ask the guy/girl for a USB powered (Portable) external hard drive. They carry three under $100.00

Here is an excellent video on how to set up time machine:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dakrnV86dGc
    I wish you luck!
    Don't worry about this. It gets easier over time and you'll be doing the same for others.

5. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

Jaro65

6. Mrs HBF thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the list Jaro65. I am making the assumption that one would use the external hard drive in conjunction with Time Machine. Isn't that what Time Machine is all about? If not, why else would you need a backup hard drive?