Time Machine questions

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by conamor, Oct 16, 2015.

  1. conamor macrumors 6502

    conamor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #1
    Good day,

    here is my setup.
    iMac 3TB fusion time machining to a LaCie Porche 3TB and also to a Time Capsule 3TB.

    My 3TB in my iMac is at 2TB of files. The time machines keep saying that the time machine disk is full, isn't it suppose to delete by itself?

    Same thing for both drives. I read that I should have a time machine HDD twice as big as my iMac HDD but that's 6... Is that necessary?
    Is there anyway way it can delete older backups withtout telling my there is no space? I thought this was suppose to be done by itself.

    Please help :)
     
  2. Mac... nificent macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #2
    No matter what size hard drive I've purchased I have always had problems with Time Machine. It's happened so many times over the years that out of frustration I finally gave up and stopped using it. I now use SuperDuper and "Get Backup Pro". The regular version is a free download.
     
  3. bernuli macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #3
    You could uncheck "Notify after old backups are deleted" That is in Options in System Preferences/Time Machine

    If you are using VMWare or Parallels, consider excluding those virtual disks from the backup as they will fill up the Time Machine drive quicker
     
  4. Sciuriware macrumors regular

    Sciuriware

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Location:
    Gelderland
    #4
    If those backup disks are full (seen from disk utility) then those ARE full.
    This is caused by TM keeping several versions of each file.
    If you don't want to go back to the past, then delete the backups and start all over again.
    The same effect with Superduper! that only makes a snapshot (but a bootable one).
    I use both, but I reduced the backups to files that will change: OSX only takes some 20Gb now.
    You can backup your invariant files separately to other (USB) disks: those are very cheap nowadays.
    ;JOOP!
     
  5. Evren Carven macrumors regular

    Evren Carven

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    #5
    If you have 2TB of files in your iMac, the time machines will take more than 2TB space to store the backup. Your backup disk is only 3TB. This is the reason time machines keep saying that the time machine disk is full. However, the oldest backups are deleted when your disk becomes full automatically. If you want to use the LaCie Porche 3TB and Time Capsule 3TB as the backup disk, you should configure the two disks as 'Use Both' in the 'Select Disk...' item.
     

Share This Page