Time Machine Requires an Entire Hard Drive?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by anirban, Oct 17, 2007.

  1. anirban macrumors 6502a

    anirban

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    Hello all!

    I was wondering does Time Machine require me to dedicate an entire external Hard Disk to it?

    Or can I assign it to a particular hard disk, and still use the Hard Disk to store my other data, and use it with my Windows machine?

    Thanks a lot!
     
  2. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #2
    can u just set up a partition on your internal drive?
     
  3. saxman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    #3
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=223065&highlight=time+machine+faq

    The macrumors Time Machine FAQ should answer your questions.

    You can use a second partition on your single drive, but if the hard drive fails then your data and the backup will fail with it. However, if you edit a lot of things and then wish you could get back a version of a document a week or so ago before you changed things, then you could use Time Machine that way. Not a real backup solution, but good in those times when you save and overwrite a document and wanted to save as
     
  4. anirban thread starter macrumors 6502a

    anirban

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #4
    So that means I can create a partition in my external drive, and assign one partition to Time Machine, and use the rest as usual?

    Thanks.
     
  5. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    You don't need to create a separate partition on your external drive ... just don't touch the Backups.backupdb directory or the .files
     
  6. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #6
    You may need a second partition if you want to use the hard disk with Windows. I am pretty sure Time Machine will ask for HFS+ format, but Windows cannot really use that.
     
  7. anirban thread starter macrumors 6502a

    anirban

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    Pardon me if this is obvious, but based on what you said, it seems as if Time Machine will just create a seperate folder in the Hard drive, and allow me to use the harddrive to do store whatever I want- as long as I don't mess around with the TM folder- right?

    Thanks for your response.
     
  8. rmh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    From what I've read I do believe you are correct, just don't mess with the backup files and you're fine.
     
  9. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    Yes that is correct. I have been doing this and it works without problems.
     
  10. projectle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    #10
    One can also use TimeMachine without using a secondary drive or partition if you really were so inclined, and felt like setting up some MAJOR tweaks to your TimeMachine configuration...

    There are a few guides online that outline this setup, and revolve directly around creating a ".com.apple.timemachine.supported" file on your main partition and modify a few plists from the TimeMachine application.

    I will not go into those modifications until the official release as per the request of the person on a certain IRC server that let me in on it...

    I am sure that if you were so inclined, you could pop in and find out for yourself.
     
  11. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #11
    The Time machine drive will need to be HFS+ formatted. Windows can't read HFS+ formated drives.
     
  12. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #12
    The Time machine partition would need to be larger then the partition to be backed up. Quite a bit larger. So if your Mac had a 320GB internal drive you would want to make a 200GB Time machine partition leaving only 100GB for general use.

    The first thing TM does is make a full backup after that it starts to keep history. After the first our of use the TM drive will hold more data than your main boot drive.

    I think TM will sell a lot of multi-drive RAID boxes. I'm shopping for a box that can hold four drives right now. I'll put in two 500GB drives on day one and over time, in a few years I expect to have four 1TB drives installed and configured as RAID5.
     
  13. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #13
    It will create a sparse image and put the files in there.
     

Share This Page