Resolved Time machine restore problems

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by geekonthepc, Aug 6, 2015.

  1. geekonthepc, Aug 6, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2015

    geekonthepc macrumors member

    geekonthepc

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #1
    Hi all

    I'm having a really difficult time getting my time machine backups to work. Unfortunately something went wrong with my Mac installation - I tried to remove Windows from Bootcamp and it all went wrong.

    Essentially I ended up restoring my Mac because the recovery partition was badly damaged.

    So, I did an internet recovery which reinstalled Mavericks and then did a Time Machine restore. All was looking good - I left it overnight and it seemed to be OK. However, when it finally completed and rebooted, it got stuck on the Apple logo with a full progress bar - and I can't get it to go any further.

    My question is, when I do a Time Machine restore, do I need to be running the equivelent version of Mac OS when I do the restore. So, do I need to reinstall Mavericks, upgrade to El Capitan beta 6 and THEN do a Time Machine restore from the built in recovery partition?

    I'm at a bit of a stumbling block here. Any help much appreciated.

    Many thanks

    Alex

    Macbook Pro 13" Retina late 2013

    Solution: Thanks to Shirasaki. If you find yourself, having done an internet recovery Time Machine restore, with a non bootable Mac (stuck at Apple logo), restore to the factory operating system, create an installer USB for the version of Mac you're trying to restore, boot onto it, and use the Time Machine recovery options there.
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Have you tried holding Alt on startup and booting directly into the Time Machine partition? Then format entire Macintosh HD (the whole thing, not just the OS partition) through Disk Utility and then restoring TM backup to freshly formatted volume?

    I'm hoping this might do the trick.
     
  3. geekonthepc thread starter macrumors member

    geekonthepc

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #3
    Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately my Time Machine backup is on my network - it isn't USB - so I'm not sure how I'd get that to work.
     
  4. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #4
    In the meantime, which password should I enter for login to time machine backup? My admin password and time machine backup password is not accepted.
     
  5. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #5
    Although I still don't know how to fix El Capitan boot camp uninstall issue, which is exactly the one you encounter, I do make an El Capitan install disk to recover from previous El Capitan time machine backup.

    So I think you should do the same. Luckily making an El Capitan install disk is not so difficult and you may be able to do it under mavericks.
     
  6. geekonthepc thread starter macrumors member

    geekonthepc

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #6
    So you think install Mavericks, make an El Capitan install disk on USB and then use that to restore Time Machine backup?
     
  7. geekonthepc thread starter macrumors member

    geekonthepc

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #7
    My other alternative would be to go to Mavericks, install El Capitan and then use Migration Assistant to restore from Time Machine but I'm keen to avoid that if I can.
     
  8. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #8
    Sorry for my belated reply. Is it on Ethernet? Plug in and hold Alt and it should still come up. Or you can try holding 'N' on startup.
     
  9. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #9
    Yes. I have done this when I need to wipe up everything on hard drive and restore from backup.
     
  10. geekonthepc thread starter macrumors member

    geekonthepc

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #10
    Ok will give that a try.
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    Do you mean recovery partition? AFAIK, the time machine partition is not bootable by default.
     
  12. geekonthepc thread starter macrumors member

    geekonthepc

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #12
    Yeah I thought that...
     
  13. geekonthepc thread starter macrumors member

    geekonthepc

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #13
    Yosemite is reinstalled, currently downloading the El Capitan beta to try and get that on a USB stick
     
  14. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #14
    I'm 100% sure Time Machine partition is bootable.
     
  15. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #15
    In an Apple Time Capsule via network? Or a local Time Machine backup?
     
  16. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #16
    I've only done it from USB Time Machine, though over Ethernet/Firewire it should also be bootable.

    No idea about Wi-Fi.
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #17
    This is the difference. USB backup is bootable (if the recovery partition is there), but network disk is not. Since OP said the backup drive is on a network volume. That's not bootable.
     
  18. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #18
    My bad. You can boot into network drives by holding N on startup, but not sure if network TM backup is bootable.

    Sorry for causing confusion.
     
  19. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #19
    Everyone make mistake, I make mistake everyday :D.

    Anyway, the Time Machine network volume is not bootable. It's design to use with Time Machine software, or recovery disk / partition (especially for the old machine like mine).
     
  20. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #20
    Ah righty-ho. Sorry again to you and the OP :oops: :oops:
     
  21. geekonthepc thread starter macrumors member

    geekonthepc

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #21
    Making the USB El Capitan installer is taking forever and there seems to be no way to track its progress, guess I'll just have to be patient.
     
  22. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #22
    May I know why you need to make the USB? Can't you just run download the installer and run it?
     
  23. geekonthepc thread starter macrumors member

    geekonthepc

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #23
    I could, but I want to restore the time machine backup - I suppose I could install El Capitan first and the restore through migration but that's not first solution I don't think.
     
  24. geekonthepc thread starter macrumors member

    geekonthepc

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #24
    Thank you Shirasaki you were SPOT ON. Using the USB recovery stick with El Capitan Public Beta installer on it worked perfectly - 15 hours later my Mac is back up and running again. Evidently you do need to use a recovery tool for the same version of Mac.

    Thanks so much for your help.
     
  25. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #25
    Glad to see problems are gone.

    No worries. :)
     

Share This Page