Time Machine restore question

Discussion in 'macOS' started by makismagoo99, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. makismagoo99 macrumors regular

    makismagoo99

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    #1
    I am going to purchase a larger hard drive for my MacBook. I was thinking I'd like to use Time Machine to restore all my documents, music, etc. My question is this: I have a few programs that are acting up (namely Address Book). If I restore from a Time Machine backup, will the faulty info come with it? Ideally, I could install a fresh copy of Leopard on the new HD and then copy my files over and the problems would go away...is that possible?
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Try a clean install of Leopard and then use Migration Assistant with Time Machine instead of a full restore. It is compatible with Time Machine.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. makismagoo99 thread starter macrumors regular

    makismagoo99

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    #3
    So the Migration Assistant will grab the files from the Time Machine Backup and restore them to their proper locations?

    Will it also grab apps and their settings? It'd be really great if I didn't have to re-download and install all my apps.
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    Yes

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  5. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    Only one Mac involved here. The OP is getting a bigger hard drive, not another Mac.....

    S-
     
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    Migration Assistant works with Time Machine
    At least it says it does ;)

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  7. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #7
    It does, except sometimes all of the migrated files have screwy permissions.
     
  8. makismagoo99 thread starter macrumors regular

    makismagoo99

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    #8
    Really? So will a "repair permissions" fix that? Or am I better off creating my own backup of music files, documents, etc.?
     

Share This Page