Time Machine sees 410GB on only 160GB HD

Discussion in 'macOS' started by technogeek, Mar 23, 2008.

  1. technogeek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #1
    I got a new 750GB external hard drive to back up to with Time Machine, and during its initial backup, it says "Backing up: __ GB of 410.5 GB". But the internal HD on this MacBook Pro 17" is only 160GB (149.05 GB according to System Profiler). So, what is making Time Machine see 400 GB ? Is something wrong? Will this screw up Time Machine?
     
  2. John01021988 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    #2
    What are you backing up? generally time machine will back up your Mac HD and other partitions. If you want to skip a partition, just get into preferences and make sure it is set to backup only your mac HD.
     
  3. technogeek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #3
    My MacBook Pro has a 160GB internal drive. There is only one partition on it. There are no other external drives attached besides the Time Machine backup drive. Here is the Time Machine Preferences Options:
    Do not back up:
    750GB_MAXTOR (43.0 GB)
    Applications (Mac OS 9) (169.0 MB)
    /temp (1.9 GB)
    /tmp (68 KB)
    /VIRTUAL_MACHINES (27.3 GB)
    Total Included: 407.7 GB

    So this is kind of weird. Where does it come up with "Total Included: 407.7 GB". Any why does it say "750GB_MAXTOR (43.0 GB)".

    The following are consistent: 55.6 GB have been backed up to it so far. The Time Machine preferences says about the Maxtor: Available: 636.9 GB of 698.5 GB, which is what Finder shows as available.
     
  4. deathshrub macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Christmas Island
    #4
    Why do you have Mac OS 9 applications on your Intel Macbook?
     
  5. technogeek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #5
    My patrimony.
     

Share This Page