Time machine set up in Yosemite

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by robo44, Feb 11, 2015.

  1. robo44, Feb 11, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2015

    robo44 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #1
    I lost a few important files on my iMac and never got round to setting up time machine so now I will.
    I am running Yosemite and googled set up but have found lots of different threads so not sure of what I should or should not do.
    If anyone can point me in the right direction it would be appreciated and myself and other half both use the iMac and have different log ins, so if I set it up for me will it also back up her info ?
    Thanks.
     
  2. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #2
    Yes, it will back up the entire computer and all user folders, unless you explicitly exclude them. The thing is - you don't set up TM for you. You are setting it up as the administrator, for the entire machine.
     
  3. robo44 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
  4. robo44 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #4
    Can it also be backed up to an external hard drive ?
     
  5. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #5
    Sure. Its external drive, computer running server OS X or time capsule. There are also vendors with unofficial support for TM.

    BTW, I would recommend you to set up an encrypted TM volume and save the encryption key somewhere safe (with your financial papers for example). This will make sure that if you lose the disk, your data cannot be accessed by a third person.
     
  6. jhfenton macrumors 6502a

    jhfenton

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Location:
    Norwood, Ohio
    #6
    Yes. I back up my internal Fusion Drive (1.1TB) and an external USB 3.0 data drive (1TB) to a second external USB 3.0 drive (4TB).
     
  7. robo44 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #7
    Right its backing up now do I just leave it alone and plugged in and what do I do when the back up has finished ?
    Sorry for all the questions but I want to do it right #
     
  8. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #8
    You don't have to do anything once the backup is finished. Every hour subsequent to the first backup, Time Machine will perform an incremental backup.
     
  9. robo44 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #9
    qq
     

Share This Page