Time Machine setup Qs

Discussion in 'macOS' started by irishgrizzly, Sep 4, 2008.

  1. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #1
    I have a few questions on Time Machine. I'm using an external HD (time capsule) over ethernet.

    1. How do I limit the total size of the space the saves take up on the HD (I don't want it to keep expanding, filling the whole HD, as it has to be shared with workmates with their own files).

    2. How can I specify a sub folder? It just gives me the option to select the drive (not any of the folders already setup on it).
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Partition the drive to set the size you want for just TM.

    You can't. You can only select the drive.
     
  3. irishgrizzly thread starter macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #3
    Thanks for the reply r.j.s.

    As files are already on there, can I still partition leaving those files on there?

    If not I'll probably use another backup option like silverkeeper. It's a shame as I like the ease and intergration of Time Machine.
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    I dont think you can partition without erasing everything.
     
  5. JML42691 macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #5
    I was able to partition my external hard drive using Disk Utility a few months ago that already had about 5 months of Time Machine backups on it because I needed to store more stuff on it, but wanted Time Machine to have its own space. It partitioned fine and I didn't lose any data.
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    I guess you can then.
     
  7. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #7
    You can dynamically (nondestructively) resize the partitions on an HFS+ drive.
     
  8. Batt macrumors 65816

    Batt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #8
    If this is true, you can't partition it.
     
  9. utradar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #9
    How much hard drive space should be devoted to a partition for Time Machine?
     
  10. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    Really? I don't have a TC, so I wouldn't know.

    I'd say at least 1.5 times the size of the drive to be backed up. e.g. 80GB HD should have a 120GB TM Drive
     
  11. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #11
    You can only partition a HFS+ drive if its formatted using the GUID partition table. If its MBR, I don't think you can non-destructively(i.e without formatting it) partition the drive.
     
  12. utradar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #12
    Ok. Well what happens when it fills up? Do I delete it all and start over or will it just delete the oldest file to make room for the newest one etc. ?
     
  13. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    TM will delete the oldest backups in order to make room, but it will always keep a copy of all the files needed to do a complete restore.
     
  14. utradar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #14
    Nice. Thanks.
     

Share This Page