Time Machine - Stuck on Calculating Changes

Discussion in 'macOS' started by GreatOldOne, Oct 13, 2009.

  1. GreatOldOne macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    Herding Nerfs
    #1
    Hi,

    I've finally gotten Snow Leopard on my Mac Book Pro, after jumping through hoops to get there - Disc not GUID, then when it was, SL not believing that the disc was bootable.

    Due to this, I nuked the hard drive, installed SL and then restored all settings and apps from my latest time machine back up, whilst physically cabled to my Airport Extreme Base Station. Whilst I left it do that, it finished the restore, and also did a couple of hourly back ups. All hunky dorey so far.

    Now that I'm using wireless, I notice that Time Machine kicks in as normal to do a back up. The icon starts whizzing round, and it starts calculating the changes to back up. But that's it. It progresses up to 99%, and then just sits there. I've left it like that for several hours, to see if it's actually going to complete, but nothing happens.

    Is there something I can look at to see if I can prod it into action?

    My backups go to a Drobo hanging off a Power Mac G4 on FW800, physically networked to the AEBS.

    Thanks in advance,

    GOO.
     
  2. GreatOldOne thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    Herding Nerfs
    #2
    Left it overnight - still stuck on 99%. Any ideas?
     
  3. sdsvtdriver macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #3
    how much data are we talking about? what is your wifi througput?
     
  4. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #4
    Open up Console.app, select the system.log file, and do a search in it for "backupd". Any out of the ordinary messages? This is what a normal backup looks like on my machine:

    Code:
    Oct 11 21:47:30 Jasons-MacBook-Pro com.apple.backupd[7264]: Starting standard backup
    Oct 11 21:47:30 Jasons-MacBook-Pro com.apple.backupd[7264]: Backing up to: /Volumes/Time Machine/Backups.backupdb
    Oct 11 21:47:36 Jasons-MacBook-Pro com.apple.backupd[7264]: No pre-backup thinning needed: 1.08 GB requested (including padding), 368.56 GB available
    Oct 11 21:47:48 Jasons-MacBook-Pro com.apple.backupd[7264]: Copied 830 files (35.1 MB) from volume Mac HD.
    Oct 11 21:47:51 Jasons-MacBook-Pro com.apple.backupd[7264]: No pre-backup thinning needed: 1.04 GB requested (including padding), 368.53 GB available
    Oct 11 21:47:54 Jasons-MacBook-Pro com.apple.backupd[7264]: Copied 207 files (1.3 MB) from volume Mac HD.
    Oct 11 21:47:54 Jasons-MacBook-Pro com.apple.backupd[7264]: Starting post-backup thinning
    Oct 11 21:47:54 Jasons-MacBook-Pro com.apple.backupd[7264]: No post-back up thinning needed: no expired backups exist
    Oct 11 21:47:54 Jasons-MacBook-Pro com.apple.backupd[7264]: Backup completed successfully.
    
     
  5. GreatOldOne thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    Herding Nerfs
    #5
    At work at the mo, so can't post details of back up size / log details. Will look later on. There shouldn't be huge amount of data to back up. Just the 10.6.1 update I installed after the initial install of SL.

    I'm using 5Ghz Wireless N.
     
  6. GreatOldOne thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    Herding Nerfs
    #6
    Aha - I guess this will be the problem - 137Gb requested, 10.12 available. Not sure why in needs to back up 137Gb though...

    Code:
    Oct 14 19:00:29 18 loginwindow[36]: spins were reported for this wake
    Oct 14 19:08:14 18 com.apple.backupd[299]: Starting pre-backup thinning: 137.61 GB requested (including padding), 10.12 GB available
    Oct 14 19:11:03 18 com.apple.backupd[299]: Deleted backup /Volumes/Backup of MacBookPro/Backups.backupdb/MacBookPro/2009-09-14-131352: 10.12 GB now available
    Oct 14 19:11:03 18 com.apple.backupd[299]: Removed all 1 expired backups, more space is needed - deleting oldest backups to make room
     
    Guess I need to slap some more drives in the Drobo.
     
  7. otelo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #7
    Same here

    My HD was damaged, got a new one and restore everything from my Time Capsule. I got the same username, short name and HD drive name on my new HD. I have little space left on the Time Capsule but isn't it supposed to erase old files to make room for new back-ups? It starts the back-up process, then it reaches the 99% barrier, gets stuck in there for a few minutes and then it stops, but no new back-ups. I need to fix this because I just experience how valuable back-ups are. Any ideas out there?
     
  8. babak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #8
    I'm having the exact same problem as previous poster. Any ideas? Help!!
     
  9. skate71290 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    okays i'm no genius at Snow Leopard or anything else Apple related because it's pretty closed (i'm a whiz at Windows lol) but it seems to me that it needs to back up 137GB because the structure (or what not... i'm sure some Programmer can correct me) has changed for Snow Leopard or there is some sort of code telling the Time Machine that it is not Leopard... but another computer (while technically not) my only suggestion is to make sure you have got everything on your Mac and empty the Time Capsule and start again, good luck :)
     

Share This Page