Time Machine system restore - How?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ogee, Oct 28, 2007.

  1. ogee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Earth.
    #1
    Ok I backed up my MacBook to a HD in my MacPro. No problems, single or multiple files restore as well. So far so good.

    Boot from install disk, goto utilities -> restore system from Backup. The only option given is to restore from a disk on my Airport (which I was unable to backup to). How on earth do you restore from a disk in another Mac?

    Looks like when the pulled backup to network disk they forgot the restore option!
     
  2. iVoid macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #2
    Is the HD on the other Mac a USB/Firewire drive? You could just move it over for the restore.
     
  3. ogee thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Earth.
    #3
    No its a built in disk in bay 3 specifically for TM backups.
     
  4. verity macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #4
    Isn't that when you go hunt down a firewire cable and restart your MacPro in the target disk mode by holding T down?
     
  5. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
    I think target mode will only let you see the first disk.
     
  6. verity macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #6
    The first disk as in the startup disk? Then just select the backup to be the main one before shutting the computer down. I never had this situation myself, so I could be missing something here.
     

Share This Page