Time Machine to Migrate Drive Data ?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by zephyrnoid, Dec 13, 2008.

1. zephyrnoid macrumors 6502

zephyrnoid

OK. Leopard newbie here. The situation:
    MacPro - with 4 HD bays
    My boot drive is the stock drive in bay #1
    I wish to start using the much faster drive in bay #2 as the boot/Applications Drive.
    In order to do that, must I...
    A- use Time Machine to migrate the entire contents of Drive #1 and move it to Drive #2??
    B- I can't simply duplicate the contents and paste them into Drive #2.
    C- Must I start from scratch and reinstall the OS and simply target the drive in Bay #2??
    I want to do this properly and without reinstalling everything from scratch.

2. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

sickmacdoc

I would suggest option D- make it simple on yourself and just clone your drive #1 to drive #2 using the free utility Carbon Copy Cloner. Then see the note at the bottom first.

Run CCC and set it up with your drive #1 as the "Source" and drive #2 as the "Target" and let it run. In the end the contents of drive #2 will be identical to the contents of drive #1 and it will be ready to boot from with no additional process necessary. Just go into your System Preferences when it is complete and use the Startup Disk pane to select your drive #2- then reboot. Your system will then boot from your #2 drive as the default from that point forward.

NOTE- If by chance your drive #2 is a brand new drive, make sure you use Disk Utility and format it as "Mac OS Extended (Journaled) and make sure the partition map is selected to be "GUID" before trying to clone to it. Most new drives come pre-formatted as one of a couple of PC formats and have a PC partition map type of "MBR", so they need to be prepared for Mac use to be a boot drive.

3. zephyrnoid thread starter macrumors 6502

zephyrnoid

Wow! quick save! Thanks!