time machine transfer help...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by JMartin23, Mar 2, 2010.

  1. JMartin23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #1
    hi guys. you're smart. i like you.




    so i have backed up my imac onto an external drive using time machine. i received a replacement computer and using migration, had the contents transferred to the computer.


    1. none of the programs i have on my original are opening and are saying they are invalid. initially i was assured that they would transfer, but now it seems i will have to reinstall ALL of my programs.

    2. none of my documents or folders are actually on the new computer. the external is mounted on the desktop, and when i click it, i try to drag folders over, but they have the little red minus sign circle symbol on them and it wont let me open them.



    WHATTTT do i do?! This is ridiculous. I was under the impression it would make the replacement computer appear identical to the original.

    please, any input will be greatly appreciated, and if there is anything not clear, please let me know.
     
  2. BulletToothTony macrumors 6502

    BulletToothTony

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #2
    did u select all apps and folders to be transfered when you first started your machine?

    i know it's a simple question but, time machine should put everything back to where your last machine was like..

    i know this because i've done this many times.. something in the process of copying went wrong.. just try again i guess
     
  3. JMartin23 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #3
    by try again, do you mean to clear the external and recopy from the original computer all the contents?


    or to use migration again on the replacement computer.





    also, since no applications actually transfer (it wants me to reinstall) should I just copy all my files over, or should I still bother with the whole time machine process.
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    Something did not go right in this process
    All of your applications should transfer and not need to be reinstalled or reactivated
    All of your documents should be in the proper place

    That is the beauty of Migration Assistant

    Yes, I would wipe the HDD and start the whole process again and pay careful attention to what you are selecting, just to make sure
     
  5. JMartin23 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #5
    thank you.


    if anyone has any other advice in the next few hours, please let me know.


    i will re-attempt this tomorrow.
     
  6. JMartin23 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #6
    so i got a firewire cable and did the migration that way. i dragged all of the folders i needed over and everything was perfect... but as soon as i disconnected the firewire, all the folders i dragged over locked themselves. WTFFFFF.



    what do i need to do?
     
  7. BulletToothTony macrumors 6502

    BulletToothTony

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #7
    you should reinstall leopard or snow leopard whichever you're using and when the option shows up you should use

    Copy files from a Time Machine or something like that and make sure everything is checked and transfer everything...

    give it time to read your time machine before you hit continue thou.. and read your options..

    Good luck
     

Share This Page