Time Machine: USB vs. AirPort Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by goinskiing, Jul 12, 2015.

  1. goinskiing macrumors 6502a

    goinskiing

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Meridian, ID
    #1
    Here's an interesting question that I have been scouring the interwebs looking for an answer for but have had no luck. Here's my setup.

    • Macbook Pro Retina (Late 2013 15")
    • 4TB External USB Drive
    • Airport Extreme AC (6th Gen. Tower)
    I made the initial backup via USB since it would take a while over the network (1 TB with other external drive plugged into rMBP). I then go and plug the Time Machine into the Airport Extreme's USB slot. I go to make a back and it doesn't do it incrementally, but treats it as a separate drive altogether. Has anyone dealt with this and figured out how to let Time Machine know that it's the same disk? Thanks!
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Yes. You must now wipe the drive and start over. You cannot do a backup over USB then over the network. You can however do a backup over Ethernet or Wi-Fi.
     
  3. goinskiing thread starter macrumors 6502a

    goinskiing

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Meridian, ID
    #3
    This is what I was afraid, seems like a bit of an oversight really. I'll just start over I guess, just seems odd. Thanks for your quick reply!
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    No problem! You can switch freely between backing up and restoring over Ethernet or Wi-Fi. You cannot use USB to backup or restore once used over the network. This is due to Time Machine using a different file type for network backups vs. locally connected drive backups.
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    If you did not already erase, there is a work around for this.

    The issue is when you do a local (USB) backup, the backup is inside a file called backups.backupdb. When you do a networked backup the same backups.backupdb file is created, but it is placed inside a sparse bundle file named for your machine.

    You can follow the steps under section #3 here to move the local backups.backupdb inside the sparse bundle and continue using it without having to start a new backup set.
     
  6. Donfor39 macrumors 6502a

    Donfor39

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    Lanarkshire Scotland
    #6

    I've found a prob with aes -external hdd -time machine does not delete old backups hence I get daily failed backup error :(
     

Share This Page