Time Machine

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by VaatiKaiba, Nov 2, 2008.

  1. VaatiKaiba macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #1
    Grr. This is the second time I've had to set up TM, and I don't think it's going well. I left it backing up overnight, only to find this morning that it's still 'Preparing...'. I can't remember from last time - does it normally take this long to begin? I only have 60 GB of info...

    Thanks!

    PS. Sorry about the vague title - I completely forgot to change it.
     
  2. Gray-Wolf macrumors 68030

    Gray-Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Pandora, Home Tree
    #2
    I would say to cancel the current backup, restart the computer, then do it again. Are you backing up a lot of files? What type external drive are you using? My iTunes took an hour to back up one time, but Backup from mobile me, does it a little faster.
     
  3. VaatiKaiba thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #3
    I'm backing up my entire computer (minus whatever TM leaves out) which is about 60GB. And I'm using a Time Capsule for my drive (it's being done wirelessly).
     
  4. VaatiKaiba thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #4
    OK, I tried what you said (stopped backup, restarted computer and started backup again) and it now comes up with the message: 'The backup disk image could not be mounted'. Now what?? I'm a little sick of TM if I'm honest. It worked perfectly, and then killed itself off...

    Thanks for the help!
     
  5. VaatiKaiba thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #5
    I've just gone into my Time Capsule, and tried to "open" the sparsebundle, and it came up with a reason that the disk image cannot be mounted: 'No mountable file systems'. What does this mean, and how do I fix it?

    Thanks!
     
  6. Bill P. macrumors regular

    Bill P.

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #6
    Have you tried rebooting Time Capsule as well?
     
  7. VaatiKaiba thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #7
    What do you mean by rebooting? I've reset every single setting - wiped the drive, reset all the default settings (using the button on the back of the actual thing)... Is there anything else I should have done?
     
  8. Bill P. macrumors regular

    Bill P.

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #8
    Hmmm, can't think of anything else. Hopefully someone else will chime in.
     
  9. vorkorsigan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
    Don't know if this is the same thing but if you use a USB drive off a AEBS and you have the drive mounted when Time Machine tries to mount the Sparse bundle it will fail and you will have to delete it and start again. I don't know if this is also the case with the Time Capsule but I would think probably yes?

    Also If you have spotlight indexing the drive I have heard this slows the back-up but have no idea how to disable this. It is OK for me so I haven't spent time on it.
     

Share This Page