Time Machine??

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jonsey44, Jan 1, 2009.

1. jonsey44 macrumors newbie

I am a total novice on the mac and have been reading the forums about time machine, anyways when i click on time machine it says an unexpected error occured (ERROR CODE 43) can anyone tell me what this means? Have i broke my new mac already:confused:.
    Thanks

2. emptyCup macrumors 65816

emptyCup

It can mean many things. The simplest is that it can not find your Time Machine drive. You have set up TM on an external drive, right?

3. Solemony macrumors 6502

Solemony

You need to have a time machine set up it's basically to back up your files. You need to have a Time capsule to do that I believe.

4. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

jonbravo77

You do not need a Time Capsule to be able to use Time Machine. you can use any external HD to back up with Time Machine.

5. jonsey44 thread starter macrumors newbie

Yes i did have it on an external drive but that doesnt work with the mac for some reason, its been saying error ever since.

6. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

jonbravo77

What is the drive formatted to? NTFS=no read or write ability from Mac, Fat32= read and write ability from Mac but I believe has a 4gb file transfer cap, or Mac Journaled = best format to use with Mac if only being used with Mac.

Has it ever worked? if so, have you recently changed your computer name?

7. jonsey44 thread starter macrumors newbie

The external drive worked the first time i tried it but then wouldnt work after that, i have only had the mac a week so im really useless at the moment.:eek:

8. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

jonbravo77