Time Machine?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by veo321, Jun 4, 2009.

  1. veo321 macrumors regular

    veo321

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #1
    I have a USB HD that I plan on using for Time Machine because I am going to replace the HD just one thing I want to get straight can I use Time Machine to 'restore' my new hardrive? :confused:
    ~Thanks
     
  2. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #2
    Yes, Time Machine can be used after replacing your current hard drive with a new one. You'll install OS X on the new drive, and then it'll prompt you to restore your drive from Time Machine if you have one setup.
     
  3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #3
    You can make a complete time machine backup and use that from migration assistant.
     
  4. veo321 thread starter macrumors regular

    veo321

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #4
    Cool

    Thanks for the help, but does anyone have a guide for replacing HD on white macbook :D
     
  5. veo321 thread starter macrumors regular

    veo321

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
  6. MireilleDarc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Location:
    usa
    #7
    Time Machine

    ok. sorry it took me a while to get back on the case. i just re-executed all the steps above.

    time machine accepted the user/password that i typed in initially no error and then said backup would begin in 120 seconds. then after 120 seconds, it said "preparing..." briefly. then i got the initial error: "Time Machine Error. The network backup volume could not be mounted because there was a problem with the network username or password. ..."
     
  7. RiCEADDiCTBOY macrumors 6502a

    RiCEADDiCTBOY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
  8. RiCEADDiCTBOY macrumors 6502a

    RiCEADDiCTBOY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #9
    does anybody have an answer to this one? this actually sounds like a similar problem a buddy of mine is having. :(
     

Share This Page