Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Arkangil

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 5, 2009
So I am brand new to Mac. I have had my MBP 2.53 for about a month and a half. After a router fiasco which took me from Linksys to Asus to D-link and finally to Airport Extreme, I have finally decided to go 1TB Time Capsule.

First off, I love this device. It works great!

Second off, Time Machine is the coolest looking application I have ever seen (maybe I don't get out much). I almost wish I could spend more time doing something in there besides just shifting back and forth, since I don't actually need to recover anything!

Third off, my question. I did not partition the Time Capsule (partly because I don't know how). I tired using the disk utility as I saw on the forum, but it never recognized the time capsule. That said, can I use any leftover space on the time capsule for just dropping files as an external hard drive? Will that cause any problems? If I do this, can my PC laptop with an application that allows it to read HFS+ (I think it's called) access these files, or anything done by time machine?

It is somewhat frustrating that on a PC I could do anything I wanted, and I am having to re-learn everything. I mean, I don't even know how Mac works it's file structure yet!! Ah well, all fun things to learn. That's why I got it! And love it!

Thanks for the help

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
Third off, my question. I did not partition the Time Capsule (partly because I don't know how).
I don't believe TC gives you the ability to partition the drive. Its not accessible via the disk utility and the airport software doesn't provide you with the ability to partition it.

Arkangil

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 5, 2009
I don't mind if I can't partition it. But can I use any still available space (I only have a 320gig hard drive, and it's not full) as an external storage device?