Time to go Lion?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by imanidiot, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. imanidiot Suspended

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #1
    I have so far resisted an upgrade (?) to OS Lion because, based on the experience/reactions of others, I have found no compelling reason to do so---I'm fine with Snow Leopard. However, I see that Apple recently offered updates to iMovie and iPhono which require that one be running Lion. Is it time to take the plunge? I assume that this practice will become the norm, if it's not already.

    Thanks for any advice/input.
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Why not wait a month and go straight to Mountain Lion (assuming apple offers an upgrade path from SL to ML)
     
  3. DavidLeblond macrumors 68020

    DavidLeblond

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #3
    I believe Apple said during the keynote that you would indeed be able to upgrade from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion.
     
  4. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    It's fine, Apple say you need the latest version of SL..10.6.8 and you can go right to ML from there...No need to have Lion installed...I'd wait too, it's only a couple of weeks or so now.
     
  5. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #5
    They said "yes" in the WWDC Keynote, and it's only going to be $19.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Thanks - I missed that during the keynote - I must have been drooling over the retina MBP at the time :D
     
  7. imanidiot thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #7
    I appreciate the advice. I suppose it would make sense to wait for ML. I hope I can indeed make the leap directly without having to use Lion as an intermediary step.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page