Time to think Outside the Box, Can we pick the EFI lock now?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MacVidCards, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #1
    Is it just me or is it pretty obvious that we have a mild refresh here in 2010 Mac Pro?

    And most importantly, does it not look like a 2009 Mac Pro with a little EFI help, could end up running those 6 core Xeons?

    For that matter, as 2010 is to 2009, was the 2008 just a barely warmed over 2006?

    And that being the case, WHY HASN'T ANYONE FIGURED OUT HOW TO UPDATE OUR BOOT ROMS ???

    Picture it, an EFI update to 2006/7 based on 2008 would allow ALL GPU updates?

    And patching 2010 into 2009 would mean I could start scouring Ebay for some 6 cores.

    Where are the brilliant EFI people to help us crack the lock?

    I'm offering up whatever hep I can give.

    Do we know which chips holds the Boot Rom?

    If it can be removed and I replaced, I will offer up my 2009 and 2006 as Guinea Pigs.

    We can do this people.
     
  2. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #2
    Doesn't Apple encrypt their firmware?

    I'm assuming the firmware chip is also not socketed for this reason. It's likely soldered to the board.

    The only likely way to make this happen is to swap either the main board or CPU tray completely (depending on where the firmware chip resides). However, this will be expensive enough to kill the idea in favor of just replacing the machine with a newer model.
     
  3. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #3
    I join myself to the effort. Have a 2009 mac pro in which im willing to experiment.
     
  4. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    Yeah, I was thinking the same thing, Rominator. The new 2010 MPs look like nothing more than 2009 models with microcode updates in the EFI. Even by examining the limited number of photos, the layout and logic board look completely IDENTICAL.
     
  5. MacVidCards thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #5
    Well, I am well versed in Surface Mount Soldering, as long as it isn't Ball Grid Array.

    So, if we can locate chip and find a way to flash , I can replace chip on my 2006 and see what happens.

    If you think about it, they likely started work on 2008 by using a 2006/7.

    I seem to recall that someone said the earlier processors worked in 2008, so possible the firmware already works.

    Question would be whether any of the other major chips changed. And if they did, was legacy support still in boot rom.

    I am willing to remove and replace my firmware chip...we just need to find it.

    I wonder if there is a team of Apple Engineers somewhere who are AMAZED that nobody has figured out how to get their Macs to run newer CPUs.

    anybody have a dead Logic Board?
     
  6. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    gonna quote myself from another thread




    "i'm starting to think about flashing 2009 mac pro with 2010 EFI to enable support for new CPU's.
    the tool to flash EFI is actually extractable from a former firmware update, so in theory it would work.
    but, i do not know of any way to extract the 2010 efi.
    however, when apple releases a firmware update for 2010 macpro (maybe 6 months from now) to fix maybe a bug or something, one could theoretically use that efi to flash on a 2009 mac pro and essentially turn it into a 2010 mac pro.

    i will look more into this when time and tools are given to me, right now my only computer is my fathers 2007 mac mini."




    let me answer that..

    because the 2008 used another chipset and mobo, that EFI would not contain data for 06/07 chipset/mobo. it would not work.

    and because the 2009 used yet another chipset and mobo... same story

    there has been gains in this between the 2006/2007 model because it was the same chipset and mobo, but the 07 carried data for new cpu's. just as we are seeing the 2010 macpro vs the 2009 macpro now.

    possible? I think very much so. I even think I could prepare a flasher for 2006 with 2007 efi, but never bothered to look into it that much because I did not think anyone would be guinea pig. it would also depend on how much restriction there is due to model identifier and ways to bypass this.
     
  7. MacVidCards thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    As I stated above, the earlier processors work in 2008, so I am hopeful that original layout of boot rom was done using other 1,1 / 1,2 components. I will be happy to stick a 2008 EFI on my 2006 if we know which chip it goes on and I can replace if need be.
     
  8. lemonade-maker macrumors 6502

    lemonade-maker

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #8
    Making money. I'm sure someone would do it for the right price. Free is not worth it.
     
  9. hyram macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #9
    The Flash part for the mp1,1, mp2,1 (06/07) models is the STMicro M50FW016. I'm reasonable confident that the mp3,1 (08) uses the same part but I don't know for sure.

    I've no idea what's in the mp4,1 (09) as I've not seen the insides of one. However I do know that it will be a 4MByte part. Can anybody locate and take a pic?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. MacVidCards thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #10
    yucky poo

    i will get a look at mine soon...but i just put the airport card in

    and while I have added Sil TMDS chips to cards in past, it was touch and go.

    thats gonna be a toughie

    best if we don't need to switch it
     
  11. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  12. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #12
    I will happily offer a $100 bounty to anyone who can enable my 2009 Mac Pro to use 6-core chips.
     
  13. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #13
    I accept that challenge
     
  14. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #14
    Are you planning the software route (i.e. EFI Flash utility that skips the authentication process)? Or pull the ROM, hook it to a programmer, and perform a dump to be burnt to new ROMs?
     
  15. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
  16. Durex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #16
    Here to help!

    Hi folks,

    I'm very keen to see what we learn here --- I, too, have an 2009 Mac Pro with single quad-core CPU (I got the base 2.66GHz W3520 model). I intended to upgrade the CPU to the 3.33GHz W3580, but the hex-core 3.33GHz W3680 would be a sweeter option --- the CPUs cost around the same price!

    I don't know about EFI, but I'm skilled with surface mount electronics/chip removal/resoldering --- down to 0.5mm pin pitch, anyway. I know Rominator has these skills --- I'm here to help the cause :) I'm based in SoCal, too.
     
  17. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #17
    We are up to $200 on this bounty, any more? Looks like we have a few gracious members willing to take on this challenge. Let's keep adding to the pot, folks, to make this a worthwhile endeavor and keep our 2009 Mac Pros upgradeable!

    :)
     

Share This Page