time to upgrade my macpro? advice please

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sejanus, Apr 27, 2008.

1. sejanus macrumors regular

hey guys

I have one of the original macpro's. It has the dual dual core 2.66ghz xeon 5150's. It has a 1900XT video card, and 16gb ram from transintl.

I am a photographer and my new cameras have seriously big files (cameras are 21 megapixel). I use aperture and would like a bit more speed but I am wondering specifically for aperture/photoshop if a new 8 core macpro with the nvidia 8800 video card and 16gb ram as well would be just a little bit faster in real life use, or if it would be a lot faster?

Basically before I splurge I'm hoping theres someone reading this that has done it, and can tell me if the speed bump is worth the cash outlay, or if it wasn't that big an increase and I should wait for the next macpro refresh.

cheers & thanks for any advice

2. yeroen macrumors 6502a

yeroen

You have absolutely no reason to spend the several thousand dollars for what amounts to a minor upgrade. At the most you'll gain a couple of seonds here and there, significant from the CPU's perspective, but a negligible amount in human-perceptible time. Most people that do upgrade do so on someone else's dime or do it just for bragging rights.

Besides, the new Mac Pro's 8800 while great for gaming is thoroughly trounced by the X1900 in Pro-Apps, like Aperture.

Unless thousands of dollars is pocket change to you, I'd wait for Nehalem, at the earliest, to upgrade.

3. macdot macrumors 6502

I'm pretty sure your set up is fast enough and as said before, won't get that much speedier with the bumps.

4. oban14 macrumors 6502a

If you can wait for Nehalem (hopefully early next year), you should. It'll be a much bigger jump and well worth the wait. That said, check the aperture benchmarks and benchmarks for your other software and see if the difference is worth the cost of upgrading now.