Time to upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by WorldTravelBro, Dec 17, 2013.

  1. WorldTravelBro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #1
    Do I get a loaded Imac and will it be good enough to play games like Call of Duty Ghosts and battlefield 4 in high settings?

    I will mainly use my computer to make videos of my trips and some web design and programming jobs.

    At night I usually turn into a gamer :eek:
     
  2. iMacFarlane macrumors 65816

    iMacFarlane

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    Adrift in a sea of possibilities
    #2
    A loaded iMac? Maxxed out 27" model?

    As long as you bootcamp Windows, I imagine it'll pwn anything you throw at it, no?

    I'm more interested to know if I can run a heavily modded Skyrim on the $1499 21" model at 60 FPS, or maybe Bioshock Infinite at native resolution with high detail levels. I search and google but can't seem to come up with anything solid that states if the upper 21" model can handle itself. It seems that all reviews are for i7 27" beasts or the 21" Iris Pro base.
     
  3. Diversion macrumors 6502a

    Diversion

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #3
    A loaded iMac has the 780M.. It's a "mobile" class video card.. it's the strongest one you can buy today and is pretty strong. At native res you won't be able to run COD/BF4 at max settings.. At 1080p should easily handle it. . I have a 680M in my laptop and it runs BF4 maxed out at 1080p at 40 or so fps..
     
  4. WorldTravelBro thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #4
    thanks i will probably be playing at 1920 1080p
     
  5. Prise macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    #5
    In my view, especially for FPS games in high resolution in highest settings, you're going to need one of those high end dedicated Nvidia or Radeon (AMD) based GPUs.

    The iMacs regardless of the graphics card it comes with won't run those games at the highest settings with any kind of acceptable fps rate, regardless of whether or not you dual boot it windows.

    In a mid range setting, I think it'll be fine. At highest settings, you'd need a PC rig to find one of the above mentioned GPUs, and may even have to have two of them to run some games at the highest settings.
     

Share This Page