time zone time warp

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by snapper07, Feb 19, 2008.

  1. snapper07 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #1
    Got a strange problem just got back from a trip to New York used my iphone over there changed the time zone and time to NY time all fine, got back yesterday changed my time and zone to london uk time all fine apart from when i go into the world clock it still thinks i'm in new york showing NY clock as present time on iphone clock and the uk time as 5 hours ahead!
    have synced the phone a couple of times and still the same changed the time and time zone loads of times it just will not stay on uk time zone can anyone help?
     
  2. snapper07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #2
    anyone?.....Not even a "you need to restore it from the back up" from any one?.....
    is everyone on vacation?

    oh well guess i'll have to move to New York!!
    :):p:D
     
  3. firstrest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #3
    I think world clock is entirely manual in that it just shows the time at locations you enter, independent of where you actually are.
     
  4. snapper07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #4
    the world clock is based on the zone your in at moment for example if i'm in london at 5 pm it should show new york as 12 noon and the london clock would be 5pm.

    but on my iphone now when i'm in london at 5pm the world clock shows new york as 5pm and london as 10 pm!

    it's stuck in new york time zone and ignores the time zone i've set in the clock setting!

    this is my problem.....
     
  5. firstrest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #5
    What happens if you choose the 'set time automatically' function in 'date & time'? Try toggling it off and on.
     
  6. snapper07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #6
    i don't seem to have that option.
    I've got time zone (set to london)
    set date and time (set to right time and date)

    calendar

    time zone support (on)
    time zone (london)

    and thats it am i missing something?
     
  7. firstrest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #7
    That's a good question. I had this 'Set Time Automatically' option in 1.1.2. It's there after upgrading to 1.1.3, but disappears on unlocking. (Something to do with downgrading the BB?) I've had people here who are on a legit. iPhone contract (including you?) telling me they don't have it, but if you go to an apple store, as I did last week, all their phones do have this option.

    It's actually a real issue with me as I travel a lot and am now having to continually manually change my time zone.
     
  8. senorcameltoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #8
    World Clock Problems

    I can confirm that the World Clock does not properly use the time settings that you configure in the General | Date & Time Settings. No matter what you put for time zone in the Settings, the World Clock will work off of the last time zone that it got from a tower. This is the case even if you have "Set Automatically" turned off and manually set your time zone.

    This has happened to me a couple times when I travel. Right now I have just landed in Germany coming from India (with its crazy half-hour time zone). The towers in the area are not updating my clock when it is set to "Set Automatically" so I have manually set my time zone to Berlin and set the time to the correct local time. When I go into the World Clock the Berlin time is incorrect (the half-hour time zone makes this painfully obvious), but the New Delhi time matches the time on the clock - i.e. iPhone still thinks it is in India.

    I've tried resetting a number of times and syncing with iTunes but to no avail. The other thing I have done to confirm this behavior is set the iPhone to Airplane Mode, manually set the time and time zone, delete all of my World Clock entries, reboot the iPhone, and add my World Clock entries back. The iPhone still thinks that it is in India after all of this even in Airplane Mode.

    In my experience, the only thing that seems to fix it is travelling far enough to switch towers a few times and find one that is properly sending the local time and time zone. It is amazing to me how many towers around the world send incorrect times or none at all.

    Edit: BTW, my iPhone is running 1.1.3 and has never been hacked. I know that there are some problems with hacked iPhones and the World Clock, but that is not the case here.
     
  9. firstrest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #9
    Senorcameltoe, I'm doubtful that this is a network time signal problem. I also travel worldwide (including India:)) with a Nokia N80. It instantly senses the correct time automatically. More often than not, my iPhone will not. As I said, this was when I had the 'set time automatically' function.:(
     
  10. snapper07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #10

    Thanks nice to know it's not just my i phone i did all the same things to change it that you've mentioned above!

    looks like it's over to apple to sort this one out? (all though prob not the top of there to do list at mo or not on a to do list at all if they use an iphone!!;) )
     
  11. senorcameltoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #11
    Beyond iPhone

    I should also mention that when my iPhone goes into time zone amnesia the alarm gets stuck on this previous time zone as well. You can go into the alarm, set the time for the alarm to say 4:00PM, press Save, and when you get back to the Alarms screen the time listed is shifted into the phantom time zone again (i.e. right now it says 10:30PM).

    Regarding it being tower dependent...
    Actually, I have the same problem with my old Sony Ericcsson T39 that I bring with me (1. It is unlocked. 2. It is small and makes a nice backup to throw in the suitcase.). When one of the phones has the problem - they both have it, except the T39's alarm works properly in manual mode. Sometimes switching carriers solves the problem, although I can only get a decent signal on one carrier right now in my current location so I haven't been able to use that fix.
     
  12. snapper07 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #12
    just a quick add have looked at my mail time stamps and they are also set to new york time!
    i was not so bothered about the world clock but if my emails i sent from my iphone are out by 5 hours out thats not good i could not work out why people were saying that my emails were all screwed up.
    going to have to book an appointment with a mac genius!
     

Share This Page