Time Zone Update in iOS 10?

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by adamjackson, Oct 20, 2016.

  1. adamjackson macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #1
    I just received this notification. Never see this before:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. electronicsguy macrumors 6502a

    electronicsguy

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Location:
    Pune, India
  3. adamjackson thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #3
    I live in New Hampshire where there hasn't been a change to the time zone and my iPhone is asking me to restart because an OTA update to the time zone was applied.

    I did a quick web-search and I can't find anyone else affected.
     
  4. leesweet macrumors demi-god

    leesweet

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    #4
    What exact version are you on? If you haven't updated recently, others of us may have gotten those updates on 10.0.3/10.1 betas, etc. These may be time zone changes for anywhere in the world, not necessarily your local (Eastern Time, USA), I'm thinking.

    There are frequently changes around the world. I don't think there have been any changes in the US, either.

    Edit: This may have been the Russian changes, where several zones were changed permanently: https://www.timeanddate.com/news/time/russia-new-time-zones.html
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    You would still need to restart to apply the updates.
    Nothing sinister there, just restart.
     
  6. adamjackson thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #6
    I'm running the latest version of iOS 10 (public release) on an iPhone 7.

    I like knowing the changes to my phone before I restart. There's no "more info" area or link to a KBASE doc.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 20, 2016 ---
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT206986

    Looks like it's a real thing. Maybe I had a world clock that recently had a change. I have Brussels, Mumbai and SF in mine.
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    Seems self-explanatory to me.
    It's updated time zone information. Your iOS system will let you know when updates are available

    Nothing more than that...
    Takes a quick restart to apply it.
    How much "more info" do you need? :D

    Be sure to check that your time zone is correctly set.
     
  8. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #8
    As a long-time UNIX admin who knows about frequent tz updates, this thread is amusing me.

    This is routine. It's harmless. I'm surprised iOS even tells you about the update if you're not in one of the affected time zones.
     
  9. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #9
    That's also why I suggested checking that time zone if correctly set.
    You CAN turn "Set Automatically" off, and change the time zone to just about anything - and that could explain the sudden appearance of the "Updated Time Zone"
     
  10. beernut macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    #10
    "updated time zone" notification is different from OP's "new time zone definitions" notification.

    Flying from new york and landing in london --> you get the "updated time zone" notificaiton

    You're in new york and have "london" as one of your world time clocks and london decides to adopt some new time zone adjustment and iOS needs to apply the update accordingly --> you get the "new time zone definitions" notification.
     
  11. electronicsguy macrumors 6502a

    electronicsguy

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Location:
    Pune, India
    #11
    It has nothing to do with where you live, what clocks you have in your phone or what OS you're running.

    The timezone database has updated the timezone info, which is a file for the whole world. The phone needs it fixed, regardless of where you live.
     
  12. Makale.Helvetia macrumors 6502a

    Makale.Helvetia

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Location:
    İSTANBUL - TÜRKİYE
    #12
    Turkish Time zone changed GMT +2 to GMT +3 (Russian Time Zone) i get the same warning and simply did a reboot. Nothing to fear about it. That change includes our time zone change as well
     
  13. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #13
    So then basically everyone would see that message?
     
  14. electronicsguy macrumors 6502a

    electronicsguy

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Location:
    Pune, India
    #14
    should, unless you have already installed ios updates which would already include it. or if a system policy/profile prevents those updates.
     
  15. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #15
    Kind of odd given how little this has ever really come up in any discussions, considering that thins that don't often happen still have come up in discussions more often than this.
     
  16. leesweet macrumors demi-god

    leesweet

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    #16
    I think for most people it comes with their normal 'point' updates. If you don't upgrade/update for a long time, you may get what the OP got.
     
  17. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #17
    Seems like that poster is running the latest public iOS 10 release, which most likely means 10.0.2, and yet I can't say I've seen that update show up on a few devices with iOS 10.0.2 that I have, and it doesn't seem like many others have as I'm sure there would be mentions of it in more than just this thread and/or more people mentioning they saw it too in this thread. There's something about it that doesn't seem as widespread and/or common/typical even compared to occasional carrier updates that aren't bundled as part of iOS releases.
     
  18. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #18
    From the Apple website, linked earlier in the thread: "Devices not using recently updated time zones won't show an alert, but will get the updated data the next time they restart."

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT206986
     
  19. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #19
    I wonder what changed in the timezone that the OP lives in recently. It certainly explains a bit more why this doesn't come up a lot, although it seems like it almost never came up before.
     
  20. adamjackson thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #20
    I check for new software updates every week on all of my devices. I also have MR in my RSS Feeds so when they post a new update is out, I go immediately to MAS or iOS Settings and do the OTA update.

    FYI< later that night, my watch also forced me to restart citing a time zone update. I have the latest public software on my MacBook Pro, iMac, Apple Watch, iPad Pro and iPhone 7. I"m an early adopter.
     
  21. jent macrumors 6502a

    jent

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #21
    I've gotten this notice on my iPhone and iPad twice in the last few weeks.
     

Share This Page