Timelapse Export Plugin for Aperture

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Kenndac, May 21, 2011.

1. Kenndac macrumors 6502

Kenndac

Hey guys,

A few weeks ago I tried to try my hand at timelapse photography. After importing all my images into Aperture then cropping and adjusting them, I had to export them all again, import into an old version of QuickTime Player and export as videos. What a pain!

I'm a Mac OS X programmer by trade, so I thought I'd whip together a little app to pull the selected images out of Aperture using AppleScript and assembling them into a video. My friend then suggested an Aperture Export Plugin would be more sensible, so, that's what I did!

It's very simple - you select a bunch of images, choose Export -> Time Lapse... from Aperture's File menu, choose a frame rate and off you go. It's free and open-source - I hope someone finds it useful! :)

You can find it here: http://www.kennettnet.co.uk/products/timelapse/

Ah, and since this is a photography forum, here's one of the timelapses I made: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ikenndac/5718565234/

2. mrbash macrumors 6502

You can do this in Photoshop and After Effects via a macro. It's pretty straight-forward.

3. cupcakes2000 macrumors 6502

Yeah, fair enough but;

A, Not everyone can afford the creative suit.

and

B, this guy is trying to help everyone else out by taking some time out to write a plugin and post it for free and tweekable use.

I think his post requires more of a response than 'It's pretty straight forward".

4. mrbash macrumors 6502

I apologize if my response was flippant. Aperture does not support macros.
    Most people creating time-lapse videos use Adobe Creative Suite. A big reason being the automation of the workflow between applications.