TimeMachine and WD worldbook ethernet

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by SuperDave, Feb 15, 2008.

1. SuperDave macrumors newbie

I'm new to macs. I have a new imac, and I also have airport extreme base station. I hooked up my external hard drive that is a 500 MB Western Digital worldbook drive. It hooks to the base station via an ethernet wire. I can see it on the left in my finder, the problem is that Timemachine does NOT see it when I try to set up time machine. It only sees the PC partition I made from boot camp, and asks if I want to format it. Can the drive I have work with with time machine? or does it have to be a USB drive?
    Thanks
    Dave

2. webgoat macrumors 6502a

webgoat

3. SuperDave thread starter macrumors newbie

Its PC formatted. Though the partition I created is PC formated as well, but that still shows up when trying to set up for Time Machine. Time Machine tells me I will need format the partition, but the WD drive doesn't even show up in the Time Machine set up. I will try to format it to Mac tomorrow and see what happens.

4. ravenvii macrumors 604

ravenvii

Time Machine will only work on HFS+ formatted drives.

And for Time Machine to see the ethernet-attached hard drive, you'll have to connect to the drive directly via AFP.

Note that support for this is spotty with Time Machine. Better-supported than an USB-attached drive (plugged into the AirPort), but still spotty.

5. SuperDave thread starter macrumors newbie

Aaaa. you lost me. HFS+? AFP? What does that stand for? Thanks for the warning with the spotty support. Will I still be able to put other things on the hard drive, or will Time Machine take up all of the space?

6. webgoat macrumors 6502a

webgoat

open disk utility from your utilities folder in applications... select your wd external and select the partition you wish to use with time machine... click erase and you will be able to format it hfs+ extended which is the format necessary for time machine