TimeMachine won't back up while in BETA?

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by a-m-k, Dec 3, 2018.

  1. a-m-k macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #1
    I have spent the past three days trying to back up my mid-2012 MBP and gave up a few minutes ago. Up until now, I have not used my MBP and just used my iPhone for whatever reason so I've come to the conclusion that my external hard drive won't work with the BETA software. Am I right? If not, what can I do fix it. I thought abut calling Western Digital tomorrow to see what they say but I am pretty sure it's my MBP's BETA OS. Should I report this in the feedback app?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Panthera Tigris Altaica macrumors member

    Panthera Tigris Altaica

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Location:
    In the Frozen North, of course.
    #2
    Time Machine will work with (almost all) beta versions of macOS. Certain specific beta builds had problems. Which build are you using? Time Machine will NOT (currently) back up to a drive which is formatted in any file system other than HFS+. Make sure that your backup drive is formatted HFS+. Time Machine sometimes gives trouble if the target backup drive is partitioned with anything except GUID. Is your drive partitioned using MBR? How is the external drive connected? Time Machine has been known to dislike network, particularly wireless network, connections.
     
  3. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #3
    I'm currently using version Version 10.14.2 Beta (18C52a).
    --- Post Merged, Dec 4, 2018 ---
    I'm currently using version Version 10.14.2 Beta (18C52a).
     
  4. adrianlondon macrumors 6502a

    adrianlondon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #4
    I'm using exactly the same on a Late 2013 MBP and my TimeMachine backups are working well.
     
  5. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #5
    Sorry about the double post I don't know what happened and I can't fix it. o_O
     
  6. Panthera Tigris Altaica macrumors member

    Panthera Tigris Altaica

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Location:
    In the Frozen North, of course.
    #6
    I doubt that the beta is the problem. One of the machines here is running that build and Time Machine works there. It says that the last backup was 10:21 today. It's more likely that the problem is elsewhere, such as with the drive or the connection.
     
  7. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #7
    I've been thinking my mid-2012 MBP is the problem. I will have owned my MBP for 6 years sometime in mid-December the manufacturing date Was December 13th. If I replace my HDD with a SSD is there a window that is slowly closing to replace parts or upgrade them?
     
  8. Panthera Tigris Altaica macrumors member

    Panthera Tigris Altaica

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Location:
    In the Frozen North, of course.
    #8
    All the 2012 Mac minis around here are equally as old, none of them have this problem.
     
  9. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #9
    Is there anything I could look at to see if its a problem?
     
  10. Panthera Tigris Altaica macrumors member

    Panthera Tigris Altaica

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Location:
    In the Frozen North, of course.
    #10
    Take the beta off and see if the problem goes away. You DO have a complete backup somewhere, don't you?
     
  11. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #11
    Yes, but couldn't I just use iCloud until the final version of the OS comes out?
     
  12. Panthera Tigris Altaica macrumors member

    Panthera Tigris Altaica

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Location:
    In the Frozen North, of course.
    #12
    Which is more important to you: having a working backup or using the beta? The problem is probably not the beta. It might be the backup drive or the Mac itself. In either case, the affected device may fail. If it's the backup drive, then you have no backup. If it's the Mac, then you have no Mac... and as backups have been failing, no backup. It seems to me that your priority should be to determine where the problem is and then to fix the problem, as quickly as possible, before something fails.

    I would suggest buying an external drive and making a complete bootable clone using SuperDuper! or Carbon Copy Cloner or a similar utility. I would do it as soon as possible. Then I would check to see what might be wrong, but only then. And I would eliminate a source of problems by going back to the release version of the OS.

    YMMV.
     
  13. haralds, Dec 4, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2018

    haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #13
    Make sure the external drive is formatted to HFS+ and not APFS. TimeMachine cannot back up to the APFS file system.
     
  14. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #14
    How do I check for that?
     
  15. Panthera Tigris Altaica macrumors member

    Panthera Tigris Altaica

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Location:
    In the Frozen North, of course.
    #15
    Do a 'get info' on the volume. if it says 'Mac OS Extended (Journaled)', that's HFS+ journaled, which is what it's supposed to be. If it says 'APFS', that's wrong and you must reformat it. Time Machine will not work except on HFS+.. If it says anything else, especially variations on FAT or NTFS, you have a Windows volume and you must reformat.
     
  16. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #16
    I don't know what a volume is.... that's what I meant. Sorry if I wasn't more clear, can I just plug in my external hard drive and there will be a "get info" choice somewhere. I think I will try it now and see what I get. Please reply anyone. Thanks again!
     
  17. Panthera Tigris Altaica macrumors member

    Panthera Tigris Altaica

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Location:
    In the Frozen North, of course.
    #17
    That would be the hard drive icon, usually named something like 'Macintosh Hard Drive' unless you've changed it. Mine are named for British line of battle ships at Trafalgar, the primary drive being Victory, of course.
     
  18. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #18
    This?
    Screen Shot 2018-12-05 at 2.59.02 PM.png
     
  19. Panthera Tigris Altaica macrumors member

    Panthera Tigris Altaica

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Location:
    In the Frozen North, of course.
    #19
    That's the Time Machine volume. It's green. Boot volumes will usually be grey or orange.
     
  20. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #20
    How do I find the boot volume? I never saw it when I tried to back up today, it would go so far than just stop. That is why I am thinking I should just wait to back up once I'm out of the the BETA mode.... Is there a website I could print directions out somewhere?
     
  21. Panthera Tigris Altaica macrumors member

    Panthera Tigris Altaica

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Location:
    In the Frozen North, of course.
    #21
    go to Finder/Preferences, look for 'hard drives' make sure that there's a checkmark, and then there should be a drive icon on your desktop.
     
  22. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
  23. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #24
    Thank you, where do I go from there?
     
  24. Panthera Tigris Altaica macrumors member

    Panthera Tigris Altaica

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Location:
    In the Frozen North, of course.
    #25
    look at the desktop for your drive. Do a get info.
     

Share This Page