Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bowbow88

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 13, 2009
Hi everyone,

The past few days, i was able to read a lot of good pointers here. Thanks for those who contribute to this forum. It definitely helps newbies like me.

I am new to mac and new to FCP. Just ordered an i7 and FCP using a G-Raid 2tb as scratch disk. Very excited! Can't wait to see it...While waiting, I am just going to do more research so that when I get the machine, I am ready to go.

The last time I capture video (7 years ago...yeah, very out of touch!!), harddrive wasn't as cheap compared to now so I had take time to get to the timecodes and batch capture them. With more than enough scratch disk now, I am wandering how the pros or the norm of capturing footage these days. Given space isn't an issue, my questions are:

Q: Should I capture the whole tape and then get my clips later or is batch capture still the way to go?

Q: If I decide to capture the whole tape and then edit out the clips, what's the best way of doing so?

Q: Say if my g-raid gets corrupted and I lose my scratch disk(but did have my projects file backed up), what's the best way of getting the original captured footage if I capture the "whole tape" method? (I understand if I batch capture and have the logs backed up, I can just go and re-capture).

Thanks for you help in advance and any additional tips in capturing are appreciated.

Aaron

spinnerlys

Sep 7, 2008
forlod bygningen
If you capture DV, the whole tape is enough, as you can do a DV Start/Stop Detection via the menu Mark.

That will make sub-clips out of every take you shot. (The beginning of the sub-clip is the start of the take (where you pressed record), the end is where you stopped the take (where you pressed stop).)

You can later recapture either the whole tape, or only the sub-clips you used or only the sequence.

Is that sufficient information?