Tips on Beginning Photography as a Part Time Job?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by I AM THE MAN, May 28, 2011.

1. I AM THE MAN macrumors 6502

Hey everyone! I am really trying to expand my knowledge in Photography, and I really want to do a part-time job in the summer as a photographer for events, etc. I am thinking of purchasing a DSLR, and I do have a little bit of experience with a T3 (but I am going to sell the T3 for a T3i), and I was wondering if anyone can offer me some tips. I do know the basics to Photoshop, etc. Some things I'd like to know are...

-Is this a good idea? I have been taking photos for over 4 years with a Point and Shoot (I am a HighSchool student right now).

-Should I shoot photos in RAW or JPEGs?

-Will I need to buy an external flash (Silly question, but I've seen the internal flash on the T3i do wonders)

-What kind of lens would I need (I will be getting the usual 18-55mm Lens).

Thank you for all the answers in advance.

2. HBOC macrumors 68020

no offense, but if you have to ask these basic questions, perhaps you are not ready.

I understand everyone starts somewhere, but there is a "bit of a difference" between a P&S and an SLR. You have to understand about exposures, aperture, shutter speed, composition (is what you are shooting interesting?), focal lengths, etc.

"Understand Exposure" by Bryan Petersen is a superb book. A kit lens is good for starting out in photography, but for any serious work, good primes (and glass in general) are needed, especially if you want to try to make money in this profession. Zooms are good as well.

3. TheDrift- macrumors 6502a

TheDrift-

Perhaps you could ask round local photo studios and see if you could pick up some work helping a pro photographer.

Even if your just moving gear around and holding reflectors you'd be picking up a wealth of info to help you

4. HBOC macrumors 68020