Titanfall game on nMP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Anim, Mar 12, 2014.

  1. Anim macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #1
    So.......

    Anybody tried this yet?

    There are a lot of posts that SLI / Crossfire is a bit flakey, and something to do with disabling AFR2 helps with flickering textures.

    Also using a profile like Ghosts can help.

    Anyway, if anybody has it running under windows 8.1, would be interested to know how it plays on the Hex with dual D700's

    Thanks
    Anim
     
  2. lupinglade macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    #2
    I would guess it will run perfect. Is this supposed to be a good game? I looked over it and wasn't too impressed, but everyone seems to be talking about it?
     
  3. Redneck1089 macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #3
    Should run fine. I'm running it on my 6-core MPc with a GTX 780 SC and i'm playing with max settings at 50-60 fps at 2500 X 1600.
     
  4. evilpaddy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #4
    I played it on a max spec current iMac with all settings set to max and at native resolution with no problems whatsoever.

    I expect my 8c D700 would match... I also don't get the hype. It's fun but having just played a few rounds would argue it has a limited shelf life...
     
  5. Zinn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    #5
    I was getting horrible flickering from the Crossfire. When it wasn't glitching out, it ran like a dream at absolutely maxed settings, (3.7ghz quad + D300s).

    I'll have to try your rendering mode fix.
     
  6. Zinn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    #6
    It helped a little. The graphics are still pretty glitched though :(
     
  7. Anim thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #7
    Thanks for the updates, sounds promising.

    The game looks fun'ish, like a faster paced COD but at 50GB and with only a 512GB ssd I have to be frugal in what games I choose. Ghosts is 40GB too. Not too impressed with only 6v6 though.

    Elder Scrolls Online Beta again this weekend so thats something to keep me happy.
     
  8. chfilm macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    I played it for the first time this morning.

    AMD needs to update the drivers for the crossfire to work properly, like this now it's a flickering mess.

    I just turned off xfire and it runs almost perfect at all settings maxed @1440p on one d700 with 8 core and 64gig.

    Actually the graphics of this game are kinda disappointing. I'm used to BF4 and titanfall looks really outdated with blurry textures, no motion blur or other atmospheric effects.

    Still a lot of fun to play! Very fast gameplay, much like in the old quake 3 days!:cool:
     

Share This Page