TM can't restore

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gngan, May 25, 2013.

  1. gngan, May 25, 2013
    Last edited: May 26, 2013

    gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #1
    My TM backups my MBP(ML) and my family's MB(Lion)

    My MBP has dual hdd(SSD + HDD). I think my ssd died so I'm trying to do the Internet recovery with another HDD. When I'm in Internet recovery, there's an option for restore from back up but for some reason there's no back up for my MBP though I'm a hundred percent sure it backs up. When I check and see if there a backup from my family's MB and its there. In fact, I can see my own backup from another Mac.

    How is that possible?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    When in the recovery screen launch Disk Utility and try to mount the MBP TM backup from there... then try restore again.
     
  3. ncrypt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Alternatively, perform a fresh install onto the drive that you wanted, then use migration assistant when you have the option during setup.
     
  4. gngan thread starter macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #4
    How do you mount HDD when you are in Disk Utility? My HDD (TM) is mount to Airport Extreme.



    Tried that but Migration assistant doesn't see my backup.
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    You did not mention this earlier, so I assumed you were using a local, USB external disk.

    TM backup to an Airport Extreme USB port is not supported by Apple, so this may be the root of your problem.
     
  6. gngan thread starter macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #6
    That maybe it.

    It's just weird that I am able to see and restore to my MBP from my family's MB backup. I am also able to see MY backup when I mount my HDD (wirelessly).
     

Share This Page