TMobile MMS on 3GS

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by morse, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. morse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo
    #1
    Hey,

    I have an unlocked 3GS on TMobile, and I can't seem to send MMS. I've had an unlocked 2G and 3G, and I've been sending MMS on the 3G without any problem. My MMS settings are the same on the 3GS as my 3G, they are:

    APN wap.voicestream.com
    MMSC 216.155.174.84/servlets/mms
    MMS Proxy 216.155.165.50:8080

    I can receive pictures just fine, and the SMS app shows the little camera icon to add images to a message. When I send the image, it says "sending" with the progress bar almost full for about two or three minutes, just like on the 3G. It waits about twice as long as it took to send messages on the 3G, and then says Message Send Failure.

    Initially I suspected that the larger image size was taking longer to send, but I've tried sending them from three or four different towns (including downtown San Francisco) to no avail. Maybe the larger image size is a problem for TMobile? I don't know to what extent the phone compresses the image before sending.

    Anybody else having trouble with MMS with 3GS on TMobile? I'm hoping it's not a hardware problem.
     
  2. tag macrumors 6502a

    tag

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    US
    #2
    I haven't used MMS since I configured it so I just ran a test.

    iPhone 3GS 3.0 on T-Mobile US running on Edge

    It took exactly 45 seconds (where it says sending like you said) for me to send a 1MB picture via MMS.

    How large are the pictures you are trying to send? The MMS settings you listed are all the same as mine, do you have MMS Messaging enabled? There is a setting under Settings > Messages > MMS Messaging ON/OFF.
     
  3. johnnyxhuynh macrumors regular

    johnnyxhuynh

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    #3
    I have tried these settings in the past, and it has served me well.
     
  4. johnnyxhuynh macrumors regular

    johnnyxhuynh

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    #4
    Was recently on the phone with T-Mobile Rep and was given MMSC value of "http://216.155.174.84/servlets/mms" — note, difference here being the addition of the http prefix. Let me know if that works for you!
     
  5. reactions macrumors 6502

    reactions

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #5
    op - out of curiosity how much did u pay for your 3gs?

    are u on tzones?
     
  6. tag macrumors 6502a

    tag

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    US
    #6
    Not sure that is it, I don't have the http:// before the address and it works fine for me.
     
  7. johnnyxhuynh macrumors regular

    johnnyxhuynh

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    #7
    I did not have/need the http prefix the first time configuring MMS either, but I figured since the OP is having problems, he/she may try this variation.
     
  8. morse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo
    #8
    MMS is turned on. It took 70 seconds from when I hit send to getting the send failure. I don't know the size of the picture, whatever the default is for MMS... I just hit the camera button in the text message app and attach it that way.

    $654 from the Apple store. I have the $24 TMobile internet thing.

    Nice idea, no dice though.
     
  9. sparrky macrumors 6502a

    sparrky

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #9
    This happened to me too, and it sorted itself out on its own. I ended up using the quality fix from HERE. So if you haven't tried it, it's worth a shot.

    My settings are identical to yours, except I also have:
    MMS UA Prof URL http://wap.sonyericsson.com/UAprof/W800iR101.xml
     
  10. morse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo
    #10
    Alright, I think I fixed the problem thanks to sparrky's link.

    I tried installing some T-Mobile US Tweeks from Cydia but they didn't fix anything. So I screwed around with some settings (via http://www.modmyi.com/forums/t-mobile/656651-t-mobile-usa-carrier-bundle.html) and these seem to be working right now:

    MMS wap.voicestream.com (same as before)
    MMSC http://mms.msg.eng.t-mobile.com/mms/wapenc
    Proxy 216.155.165.50:8080 (same as before)
    UAProf http://www.apple.com/mms/uaprof.rdf (was blank before)
    --> Restart phone

    Outgoing definitely works, I think incoming works but the people I've tested with so far have all been Verizon, and incoming from Verizon has always been flakey.

    Thanks everybody.

    PS the 3GS is SO sweet. It's what the iPhone has been trying to be all along and never quite was.
     
  11. johnnyxhuynh macrumors regular

    johnnyxhuynh

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    #11
    Glad to hear you found something that works.
     
  12. morse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo
    #12
    After some testing, it looks like I'm not getting pictures from people on Verizon. T-Mobile ones come through, Verizon don't. I don't know if this has anything to do with my phone settings (or hardware) or a network issue, but it's annoying.
     
  13. morse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo
    #13
    Ok it's been a couple weeks and these settings seem to be working fine. The Verizon issue is, I believe, just a Verizon network issue. MMS working great on 3GS with t-mobile :)

    Too bad those legit at&t people can't get picture messages yet.
     
  14. Falcone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #14
    i apology for posting here but im lost on how to get my iphone 3g 3.1.2 to picture text , i do heve a 2g 3.0 and do have picture text , the problem is that i forgot how to make the little camara on the text screen ? i have been reading and fownd no answers , can anybody help?
     

Share This Page