Tmobile Web vs. T-Zones Pro

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ThePeacemaker02, Jul 13, 2008.

  1. ThePeacemaker02 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #1
    I want to add the internet to my iPhone and I noticed tmobile switched up their internet. Is it just a rename, can I still use the 5.99 (tmobile web) with my phone and the apps and email? The difference isn't really clear on the site except that tzones Pro lets you use corporate email.
     
  2. andylane macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #2
    I still use the 5.99 one with my iPhone. It works fine. I found I had to call and ask for it; it wasn't available for me to switch to online.
     
  3. Tommyzors macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #3
    I just added the 5.99 plan online, and waited about a week before I started receiving data. After that is been wonderful, I'm getting around 216 kbps on EDGE around NYC, but the occasionally I would get Scode while surfing but is no big issue.
     
  4. Hls811 macrumors 6502a

    Hls811

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    I'm looking to do this also and was going to stop by a T-Mobile store to get it done.. Can anyone verify whether it works with the pre-paid plans? I've seen mixed responses.

    I won't be using voice at all - I have a Verizon cell for that, Whats the cheapest plan I can get (if not pre-paid) that will use the $5.99 plan?

    I noticed that on the Tmobile website I can just order a T-Mobile SIM Card Activation Kit for $6.99 - can I just order that, throw a $100 prepaid on there (so it lasts for a year instead of just 90 days) and then include the $5.99 web?
     
  5. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #5
    no.
    the $5.99 plan only works w/ postpaid plans. it cannot be added to prepaid.
     
  6. Hls811 macrumors 6502a

    Hls811

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    Ugh..so the cheapest way to do this is to get the Individual Basic 300 plan for $29.99 and then add on the $5.99? $35.98 a month is still better than what AT&T is charging but if I'm going ot keep my Verizon voice plan its not really saving me anything.
     
  7. cmattern80 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #7
    I Need Help

    I'm a TMobile customer i purchased an Iphone online. The phone is a locked 3g 2.0. The question I have is will i be able to unlock the phone without a sim in the phone? I read where I can downgrade from 2.0 to 1.1.4. Can i use my tmobile sim or does it have to be AT&T sim? I'm sure im screwed my luck haha. Also i've read that the 5.99 internet doesn't always work? Can you still get online all the same with the cheaper one?
     
  8. Hls811 macrumors 6502a

    Hls811

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    Are there any web options for pre-paid or can you only get voice with a pre-paid phone?
     
  9. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #9
    The 3G iPhone is Locked atm. There is no way to go from 2.0 to the 1.1.4 on the 3G. So that also means no jailbreak on the 3G iPhones and no T-zones.

    T-zones is only accessing the internet through a proxy. It speeds up slower handsets using the internet because the cache is stored on T-mobile's servers. At least that's how I figure it. You can read more about proxies from your local library.
     
  10. dquattlebum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sacramento,CA
    #10
    with the 5.99 plan work when the 2.0 software is unlocked for other carriers?

    specifically regarding the mobile me and exchange features?
     

Share This Page