To 8 Core or Not to 8 Core?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tjpeople, Jan 8, 2008.

1. tjpeople macrumors newbie

Right as many of you I have been waiting for this anoucement for quite a while.

As a student I wanted the other all price to drop down, I'm not after the high end. So I was relatively happy that the price seems to have reduced a little.

What I mainly want to know is what are the benefits of 8 core? Should I save the money - spend it on RAM/HDD?

Basic Configuration: 2GB RAM, 320GB HDD, ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256MB GDDR3

My estimated planned usage is:

• Dual booting XP/Vista and Parallels/Fusion of XP/Vista
    • CS3 - RAW editing etc
    • Final Cut (new to it so I will be learning, but it needs it to last, im not buying a new Mac after this for a while)
    • Video Encoding (x264 XviD etc) casual usage.
    • Maya (again learning)
    • MicroStation (in XP)

So do you think my needs suit a 8 core (I want some future proofing) or would the the money be better spend on adding to RAM.

Will parellels/fusion benefit from 8 core? is there a list of programs that can actually use 8 core?

Side Note: If I should go for 4 core and spend money on RAM, I'm happy to wait a little to add more - will 3rd party RAM be available in the near future and will it be cheaper than buying it now?

Many thanks for any help :)

2. fluidedge macrumors 65816

fluidedge

Save the money and spend it on: RAM, HDD, textbooks, Decent desk/chair and a can of coke.

4 core is enough for a 'student' (i'm not being patronising, i'm one myself!) - I'm learning maya and Final Cut myself and i'd say 4 cores is plenty for studenty type projects then when you've earnt a few bucks on jobs buy the second penryn chip when the prices fall!

3. CWallace macrumors 601

CWallace

An Apple Online Store rep said that the single CPU units ship with a systemboard having only one CPU socket, but I believe they are wrong and they will ship with two sockets (one empty).