To BTO or not to BTO...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cjhorist, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. cjhorist macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #1
    Hey guys, quick question (which will require a little bit of speculation) about my next iMac purchase.

    Currently waiting with the rest of us for the refresh, and right now I'm debating what exactly I will choose when it comes out. Previously, before I read about the impending refresh, I was planning on getting the high end 27" with BTO to get the i7 chip.

    However, speculation has it that the i7 chip will be the standard in this model come refresh, so my question is this: What processor difference will be enough to justify the extra ~$200 that will be charged for it. Previously I felt it was a no-brainer when going from i5 to i7, but not so sure any more.

    My usage isn't as heavy as it used to be, with little video editting, and mostly gaming (WoW, SC2) beyond regular usage.

    Thanks! :)

    -cjh
     
  2. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    We won't know until the official specs are released. We won't even know how much any BTO options will cost.

    I just know that i'll get whatever CPU or GPU BTO options there may be. My video encoding tasks will max out the CPU and I game so it's an easy decision for me.
     
  3. kfury77 macrumors regular

    kfury77

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Osaka, Japan
    #3
    I think the high-end 27" iMac will be enough for you. I don't think you need to spend extra to upgrade the processor beyond what the high-end iMac will come with as standard. The Sandy Bridge processors are so fast as they are.

    It will very likely come with 4GB of RAM, so save some money on getting the stock 27" iMac and get some extra RAM after-market and fit it yourself. Will cost very little to bump it up to 8GB.
     
  4. cjhorist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #4
    This is what I am leaning towards at the moment -- I appreciate the input. Plus, I'll have the unit 1-2 business days earlier without the shipping delay ;)

    Oh, and already have 2x4gb ram waiting :)

    -cjh
     
  5. scoobydiesel macrumors member

    scoobydiesel

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #5
    I'm really hoping it will ship with 8GB standard. thats the main thing I'm hoping for but i still dont expect that to happen either. If not, I will just buy my own RAM and upgrade at a later time.
     
  6. ShiftyGray macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #6
    Yeah RAM is a non-issue. The only BTO of interest, to me, is SSD.
     
  7. jborko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    #7
    I considered the same too, and I decided to wait for 2011 models and NOT BTO.

    1. i7 according to me will be deffo in the standard
    2. RAM is user upgradable for better price than Apple offers
    3. Small SSD according to me might be included in the standard for performance boost, but even if not I would only consider this option (but not for 600+ USD)

    Other then that there is nothing else to BTO (unless you need some wild graphic card, but IMO apple does not offer upgrade of those on iMacs)
     
  8. Hexley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #8
    Core i7-2600 = $294
    Core i5-2500 = $205

    I do hope I am wrong and the Core i7-2600 will sell for $1999 with 8GB so I can drop in another 8GB to make 16.

    Sadly 8GB modules are $800.
     
  9. scoobydiesel macrumors member

    scoobydiesel

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #9
    I dont see why i7 wouldnt be standard now. But More and more i think about it i do hope that they include some sort of SSD as a standard deal.
     
  10. maclaptop macrumors 65816

    maclaptop

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    #10
    I know prior to the purchase, that Apple is the most expensive, yet for the most part you get high quality.

    I always order BTO since that way Apple is building it just the way I want it.

    Although I could easily ad the SSD & Ram myself, since I'm already overpaying, money is a moot point.

    Besides its a nice convenience.
     
  11. bushman4 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #11
    128gb SSD (to be used as a boot drive) + 500gb 7200rpm HDD would be a nice standard deal . Of course if the price isn't to crazy.
     
  12. scoobydiesel macrumors member

    scoobydiesel

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #12
    I think it would be a bit odd to see a 500gb and not a TB tho...but hell, id be fine with the 500 :)
     
  13. ShiftyGray macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #13
    It would be a nice standard deal to distinguish the iMacs from MacBook Pros. Now the combination MacbookPro + Display is very tempting. I hope they want to distinguish the iMacs a bit more.
     
  14. Darien Red Sox macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    CT, USA
    #14
    When ever I order a Mac I like to pick built to order options that can not be upgraded afterwards such as the CPU. RAM and Hard Drives can be installed afterwords and most of the time for less than they would be originally. When I ordered my Mac Book Pro I maxed out the CPU as well as the Hard Drive, only because the price to max out the HDD was much cheaper than an after market drive at that time. The RAM I waited about a year until I got 8GB at a good price, easy upgrade. In the case of the iMac and the SSD I don't know weather or not the iMac without the SSD will come with the bracket to mount one.
     
  15. DeaconGraves macrumors 65816

    DeaconGraves

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #15
    I haven't really decided on whether I'll upgrade the CPU to a BTO option. But I'm definitely upgrading to an SSD + HD option (if we haven't gotten lucky enough to be standard).
     
  16. MacUser420 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    #16
    $800 for 8gb? its *face palm* time. for $800 you can goto massage like 10 times.
     
  17. hipnotizer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    #17
    Also if you look at the AMD website on the HD 6000A series, it is an all-in-one desktop that is behind the dude. Another hint hint???
     
  18. scottp78 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #18
    Can't really say until we see what the Offering is from Apple of there standard equipment!
     

Share This Page