To flash or not; need a simple solution

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by fenixx, May 5, 2009.

1. fenixx macrumors regular

fenixx

I'm a designer. I'm use to designing these websites and handing them off the web guy but I am solo on this one.

I just want an incredibly simple, click to go to next "slide" type slideshow. I've been messing with "slideshowpro" but i think it is over complicating what I want to do.

Please, please, please - I just want something incredibly simple to setup - should I use Flash (and if so, what should I do) or should I just create something in Dreamweaver (and if so, what, lol). I've designed what I wanted to do and attached below.

- Any help is very much appreciated. Maybe I can typeset something for you in return ;)

Attached Files:

2. design-is macrumors 65816

design-is

Hi fenixx :)

I'd stay away from flash. Most uses of flash are, in my opinion, evil :rolleyes:

Take a look at Step Carousel - may be just the ticket if you have the know-how to implement it.

Or some sort of lightbox usage?

Or WordPress with the Viewport theme maybe?

Or have I got the wrong idea?

3. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Why won't normal webpages work for you? You could download or create a "Next" icon to use as a hyperlinked image to go to the next page.

4. pelsar macrumors regular

how programming challenged are you?

if you know virtually nothing, one option is flashden.com....you can buy a flash slide show that uses xml (a way of linking pictures to the internal flash program).

the swf file you import into your website page.....and your done.

option 2 requires basic knowlege of html...you make each page with your image and link text to the "next" page.

5. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

snickelfritz

The graphics and timeline animation aspects of Flash development are simple, and often attract artists/designers due to the true WYSIWYG environment.