To go or not to go?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by paddy, Jan 28, 2010.

1. paddy macrumors 6502a

paddy

Hello all.

I'm a student studying in Ireland and I recently applied to, and was accepted for, a study abroad programme in the US. Basically I do my third year in the US and come back for my finals. I got offered North Carolina State for the year and I accepted but I'm now getting second thoughts on it.Could anyone tell me if Raleighs a nice place to live? What's the campus like? And the people?

I'd really appreciate any help I could get to make up my mind, really unsure what to do atm!

Cheers, Paddy.

2. dmr727 macrumors G3

dmr727

I don't know anything specific about NC State, but if it's anything like a typical college environment, you'll have a blast. I can't imagine you not having a great time, and Raleigh seems like a cool town too.

Also, assuming you have an accent, you'll pull more wool than you'll know what to do with (or the male equivalent - I don't have any crude euphemisms for that scenario). :p

3. mscriv macrumors 601

mscriv

North Carolina is generally considered part of the South and thus people there will be polite and easy going. The #1 college sport in NC is basketball so that will be a plus if you're already a fan of the game. It sounds to me like a cool opportunity and something you would probably regret if you didn't go.

Edit: the Wikipedia site for Raleigh, NC is quite extensive and could provide you with a lot of information.

4. bartelby macrumors Core

Damn right.
    It's better to regret something you have done than regret something you haven't done!

OP. My wife did a year in Northwestern Uni in Evanston Illinois, whilst at Sussex Uni, and she loved it. It's a great experience.

Do it.

5. timerollson macrumors 65816

You would cheapen your entire college experience if you don't take advantage of this opportunity.

6. Corrosive vinyl macrumors 6502

Corrosive vinyl