To Mac Pro or Not

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Kentucky Mac, Jan 15, 2008.

1. Kentucky Mac macrumors newbie

I am new to the Mac way of life, as I have been a Windows user the last 12 to 13 years or so, and most recently using Dells for the last 8 years or so.

I currently run a new M6300 17" Dell Precision Laptop (2.2ghz C2D w/2GB Ram, w/Nvidia Quadro fx1600m w/512mb ram) in a Latitude docking station hooked up to a 24" Dell ultrasharp widescreen monitor via DVI as well as a older 17" dell monitor hooked up via VGA on the back of the docking station.

I run my business from my home and routinely sit at the computer all day and sometimes into the night. I typically will have Outlook, Quickbooks, Firefox, Slingplayer, Adobe Acrobat, Excel, and my cabinet design software running at the same time. The cabinet software does 3D renderings.

All this being said, the Precision machine seems to be a great unit and only hangs occasionally running all these apps, but it is a monster to use for anything other than a desktop replacement that you leave on your desktop. Therefore I need another solution, and I'm not opposed to spending the money on a tower unit of some sort, and buying say a 15" MBP for portability, or maybe even the new Macbook Air.

Some of my requirements -

I'd like to run my 24" widescreen along with 2 -20" Dell Ultrasharp standard monitors on each side of the widescreen. Therefore, i'd need at least 3 if not 4 DVI outputs.

If I add a portable via the MBP or even the MBA, can I sync my files with the Mac Pro without any trouble?

Finally, can someone explain a comparison between what I have CPU wise and what I could have with the Mac Pro?

Is the Dual Quad Core a necessity, or is the single quad core still way above and beyond what I currently have?

Does my windows only software have to run 64bit to take advantage of more than 2 GB of ram??

My next Cabinet Vision Software upgrade will require:

Processor