To move or not to move factory RAM when adding more RAM?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by aaron321, Jun 11, 2014.

  1. aaron321, Jun 11, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2014

    aaron321 macrumors member

    aaron321

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    #1
    The question is in the title.
    My factory RAM is a rinky-dinky 1 GB total.

    I thought it would be wiser, when upgrading, to remove that from it's place and plug it in later, after I have installed the 8GB + other 2GB RAM in other slots.

    However, many of the instructions on Youtube and from Apple say you should just leave the factory RAM where it is (Riser A slot 1+2) and then add on to it.

    What should I do?:confused:
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    I don't think it really matters as long as you put the ram in matched sets. Ram is ram, Apple ram is not anything special.
     
  3. leventozler macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #3
    Run Geekbench with and without the factory RAM. Sometimes mixing different brands (or different frequencies) cause (minor) performance drops.
     
  4. aaron321 thread starter macrumors member

    aaron321

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    #4
    Yeah, it doesn't seem like it would matter. Just wondering why people would leave smaller RAM up front on the first riser and not instinctively put the larger RAM there in it's place. Thanks!
     
  5. jlsm511 macrumors 6502

    jlsm511

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    KMIA
    #5
    As long as it's all matched up shouldn't matter.
     
  6. Larry-K macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #6
    I always toss the Apple RAM in a drawer and replace all of it.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    If slots avail, consider keep use the Apple RAM. Even though keep the RAM running in triple channel will give you best performance. Less RAM also affect performance.

    Usually, less RAM size make your system end up required to compress RAM or use swap under heavy duty. The performance hit is bigger than mixing RAM.
     
  8. aaron321 thread starter macrumors member

    aaron321

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
  9. Umbongo, Jun 15, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2014

    Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #9
    If you want to use them Aaron, and assuming 8GB + 2GB meant you put 2x4GB in Riser A and 2x2GB in Riser B then place them on Riser B.

    A1: 4GB
    A2: 4GB
    A3: -
    A4: -

    B1: 2GB
    B2: 2GB
    B3: 512MB
    B4: 512MB

    This gives the most balance via 8GB on Riser A and 5GB on Riser B and your largest DIMMs in the quickest slots, but honestly I'd just not use it. The 512MB DIMMs were slower to access and the best place for it is on the slowest slots which has potential to reduce your overall memory performance all the time.

    h9826790 is pretty much right in that having RAM is better than not, but sometimes you may find a situation where you will rarely utilize the extra memory, but your whole memory performance has been reduced by using the extra modules. You lasted this long with minimal memory, you won't miss an extra GB capacity.
     
  10. reco2011 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    #10
    Outside of benchmarks I doubt any of this will really matter to the OP.
     

Share This Page