To prevent future breakages....

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by PaulAshcroft25, Oct 14, 2009.

  1. PaulAshcroft25 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    #1
    Just got replacment iPhone 3gs it has 3.1 software on. I broke my last one somehow which was blackra1ned with 3.1.2 on it. Now if I jailbreak this one what do I need to do to ensure it stays healthy and doesn't break again. How do I restore it back to normal virginised? Do I have to uninstall blackrain and cydia an just restore back to normal. The thing is is that I tried to restore the broken one but each time it kept coming up not restored error 9. Thanks.....
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Based on the number of issues you posted on your last attempt:

    Get a tutorial from iClarified and follow it letter by letter.

    or

    Get someone with more experience to do it for you.
     
  3. polobreaka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #3
    and they still gave u a replacement phone?
     
  4. PaulAshcroft25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    #4
    Yes they did because there was no evidence that it was jailbroken. The lad in the shop basically tried to restore it in store and it wouldnt. Iphone wouldnt switch on either just kept restarting when Apple logo appeared.
     
  5. MikePA macrumors 68020

    MikePA

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    #5
    When it comes to jailbreaking, some people should just run away, run away.:D
     
  6. PaulAshcroft25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    #6
    I'm capable of following instructions as per several links, but the instructions don't give you information on what to do when you have succesfully installed Blackra1n.
     
  7. MikePA macrumors 68020

    MikePA

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    #7
    Instructions for what? If you want to remove evidence of jailbreaking, you do a restore in iTunes back to the standard iPhone software.
     
  8. PaulAshcroft25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    #8
    So to restore, you just do a restore back to the offical firmwire 3.1.2, I tried that and it gave me errors hence the reason why I took it back to Apple Store and got a replacement free of charge the next day...thanks god.
     
  9. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #9
    I had that same problem with my 3GS back in August and they had no problem replacing it. Mine would come up with an error 23 and XCode told me it was a radio failure meaning there was no WiFi, no bluetooth, no 3G. It happened after I restored my Cydia apps with APTbackup. The Genius couldn't get it to restore so they replaced it.
     
  10. impulse462 Suspended

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #10
    So if the phone can't be restored they'll replace it, but if i dropped the phone and it wouldnt restore they didnt replace mine..? (it had a bunch of scratches on the back)

    i hate apple

    to the OP, as long as 3.1.2 is the newest firmware, you can always restore back to it. make sure you save your ecid shsh file via cydia and just be careful about what you install. If you're not sure about something from cydia, search it on google before installing it.
     
  11. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #11
    Yes, the difference was that you dropped yours. Apple will rarely if ever warranty something that has been dropped as the problem can be blamed on the damage from the drop.

    My problem could have just been coincidence that it failed right after restoring from APTbackup. I restored it and went to sleep. A few hours later there was a message on the phone saying it could not make or receive calls and that a restore was needed. Restoring would not work. I was able to boot it up finally with Purplera1n so that I could go into settings to erase all settings and content and that put it into the constant apple logo reboot. and the iPhone still could not restore.
     
  12. impulse462 Suspended

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #12
    Thats weird..i'm assuming you tried dfu mode. Unknown to apple, I had installed a theme from cydia that kept putting my phone in an infinite boot cycle because the back looked so awful. The phone worked fine. Sneaky yes I know but i was mad at the time.

    Back looks fine now after 3-4 months, if you look closely you can still see the scratches tho :[
     

Share This Page