To server or not to server

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by rollergrinder, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. rollergrinder, Feb 16, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2013

    rollergrinder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #1
    hi guys/gals
    first time poster so a big hi to y`all
    im a dense musician/sequioa user whos buying his first mini mac next month. initially i was thinking of getting teh 2.6 quad with 8mb ram (possibly 16 tho) and one 256gb SSD
    should i really be looking at the server version because of its 2 hard drives,keeping the OS etc on the 1TB drive and opt for an SSD for my audio?
    or is this overkill? i only run small-ish projects
    from my PC/windows nightmare days i always kept internet and audio on different computers..
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    I would do it the other way around, keep the OS on the SSD (thus fast access to the integral parts) and the audio data on the 1 TB HDD, but then again, you can get the i5 or i7 Mac mini and add RAM and SSD yourself and also use the Dual Hard Drive kit to either use the already present 500 GB HDD and an SSD or get another 1 TB HDD and use an SSD and then use the 500 GB HDD in an external USB 3.0 enclosure for backups (please backup your not easily recreateable data).

    To learn more about Mac OS X: Helpful Information for Any Mac User by GGJstudios
     
  3. rollergrinder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #3
    thankyou!
     
  4. Hessel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    Renkum
    #4
    don't get the server. get the maxed out Quad Core i7 Mac Mini and add an SSD to it yourself. like I did. It's really easy, provided you have the right tools.
     
  5. rollergrinder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #5
    :eek: tools! id worry about invalidating warranty(im not a competent repair/upgrade type bloke!)
    so what did you do ? i presume you mean you added an SSD internally?
    so did you have it fitted with an SSD when you brought it (giving you 2 x SSD's now?) or did you stick with the standard 1tb 5400rpm ?
     

Share This Page