To the people who don't like iMovie

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by levitynyc, Aug 8, 2007.

1. levitynyc macrumors 65816

I am not a novice computer user. I am not a 75 year old grandmother. I am a 25 year old male who loves high tech gadgets and equipment. I have an HD camcorder and a 10 mega pixel digital SLR.

Sorry to say, but I am a newb in working with iMovie. I've had my iMac since November. I tried to use iMovie HD 06 to make short little movies of my vacations, of my niece's concerts, my parties, and of old home movies I just converted to DVD It was overly complicated for me. It felt more like a pro-app rather than an Apple program. I don't have hours of time to make a halfway decent movie. I felt like Steve was talking about me when he explained how it was impossible to make a movie in half an hour. I even bought a help book and I still found myself never using it.

Imovie 08 has been a godsend. Apple has hit a home-run by simplifying the application. I have used it for almost 24 hours now and I have been having a blast. Its so easy to use and fun, instead of frustrating and complicated. I would bet that 90 % of converted PC users never used iMovie 06. The simplicity and fun of iMovie 08 will bring the # of new converters to 95%.

If you want dual audio tracks, timelines, and have 6 hours to make a 15 minute movie, then buy Final Cut Express.

2. squeeks macrumors 68040

squeeks

you figured out how to use imovie 08 but couldnt figure out imovie HD?

i find that hard to believe

3. Royale w/cheese macrumors 6502a

iMovie HD in 06' was hard to use, with a book too?

Did you ever try the magic movie option?

4. squeeks macrumors 68040

squeeks

its impossible to make a movie in half an hour unless its only 5 mins long

just ripping it off of the camera and exporting the final movie takes longer than that

5. macbwizard macrumors 6502

macbwizard