To those who use Apogee interfaces....

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by inhalexhale1, Jan 12, 2018.

  1. inhalexhale1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    I just picked one up. Very nice. However, I noticed that adjusting volume at lower levels uses larger increments than at higher levels. It's....bizarre. Can this be adjusted?
     
  2. sonsofnarcissus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    #2
    I have an Apogee Duet. While I don't have an answer to your question, I will however say that they have very good customer service and have always helped me promptly. Suggest you contact them.
     
  3. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #3
    Don't the Apogee interfaces use the Mac's system volume interface? If that's the case, hold Option-Shift while adjusting the volume.
     
  4. inhalexhale1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Location:
    PA
    #4
    They do have good service, and I did reach out. Apogee uses a logarithmic stepwise increase to the interface. When using the Mac keyboard controls, the increase in decibels will be greater at lower level increases, than when you are at higher volume levels. There is no way to change this, and to do finer, or even increments, you must use the knob.
     
  5. Papanate macrumors 6502

    Papanate

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5

    Sorry had to revive the thread - if you didn't find the solution - here is what you need to do:

    Turn off any speakers attached that the Duet is using.
    Unplug the Duet USB - then Hold the Knob down and
    plug the Duet back in. Wait about 15 seconds or until the
    A clears. That is a hard reset on the Duet. Usually fixes
    problems like yours.
     
  6. inhalexhale1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Location:
    PA
    #6
    Thanks. I actually spoke at length with Apogee, and the larger incremental jumps at low volumes (versus higher volumes), when using Apple keyboard controls, is by design. There is no way to adjust that in Maestro.
     
  7. brownbird macrumors member

    brownbird

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Location:
    Worldwide
    #7
    As a workaround, make fine adjustments to the audio source (iTunes, Ableton, Live, etc.) instead of using the volume knob.

     

Share This Page

6 January 12, 2018