To upgrade or not?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by A.Jai, Dec 2, 2008.

1. A.Jai macrumors member

A.Jai

I have a 17" Macbook Pro 2.33 GHz, 2gb RAM, 160gb HD that is turning 2 this week :) I have been debating upgrading to the new MBP 15.4" 2.53 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB Hard Drive. I need to be able to sell my current MBP for a decent price and it is at about $1400 on ebay right now. Amazon is selling the new system for $250 off right now I am wondering if now is the best time to buy :confused:

I currently have a glossy screen so the glossy screen on the new MBP isn't an issue for me, but the downgrade in resolution is as I am a graphic designer. Is the difference between the two resolutions super noticeable?

My biggest issue in making this decision is making sure I get a good amount of money for my old computer and a killer upgrade in the process. I am afraid if I wait until mid-2009 my 17' will drop significantly in value.

any helpful advice?

THANKS!

2. amoda macrumors 6502a

Well you're trying to sell in a time where the biggest sales of the year occur, so it's bound to be tougher for you to sell. Weren't there people getting BNIB 2.6 previous gen 15" MBP for like $1500?

Do you have apple care on the machine? It's a huge plus, if not, a huge con. Especially since it's past the 1yr mark and they can't purchase it themselves if they so wish to do so.

Resolution wise, it is somewhat significant. A friend of mine has the normal 17" and he has, what seems like, a lot more screen real estate than my 15".

The biggest reason to try and sell your MBP quickly is because of the odds of a new 17" mbp. As you might know, only the MBs and 15"MBP got a redesign. It's only logical to assume that in the next update the 17" will get a redesign, making your laptop looking even older and therefore get you less cash.

I haven't read about any rumors of the release date but the longer you wait, the less of a selling window you have.